Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MrMister111

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jan 28, 2009
UK
Complete newbie to coding. Wouldn't mind messing about, I have an idea for an app, more iPhone app though.

I have an iMac and iPhone/iPad etc, but also have access to Windows 10 etc to.

So should I start with Xcode/swift or use the new MS visual studio for Mac?

This is for a complete novice to coding, NJ o idea how/what to do on any languages etc either.

Thanks

danR2

macrumors newbie
Mar 30, 2016
So should I start with Xcode/swift or use the new MS visual studio for Mac?

This is for a complete novice to coding, NJ o idea how/what to do on any languages etc either.

Thanks
If you're a newbie, don't start with Xcode or Swift. Unless you're dedicated the prospect of becoming a coder. These aren't snap-together drag-and-drop oriented tools.

I'm having trouble installing VS. This is sounding like the usual MS hiccup.

PhoneyDeveloper

macrumors 68040
Sep 2, 2008
I believe that VS for Mac is a rebranded Xamarin Studio. That would mean learning C#.

I would recommend starting with Xcode and doing some tutorials or get a book.

Reactions: grandM and danR2

danR2

macrumors newbie
Mar 30, 2016
Yeah, I'm seeing no evidence of Visual Basic for the Mac version. Basic + drag and drop objects is what you would want to start off with, at least for a few weeks. You might want to poke around the internet for some simple beginner's programming languages, like Scratch: you can click on project, run it, and inspect the lego-like click-together syntax, etc.

Last edited:

MrMister111

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jan 28, 2009
UK
Seems so difficult to start from nothing now.

Some say Xcode/Swift others not. Agreeably better to start from scratch suppose but just thought I'd try and jump in and learn.