Colin McRae Rally Mac Coming October 26

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by fblack, Oct 23, 2007.

  1. fblack macrumors 6502a

    fblack

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #1
  2. murfle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    #2
    I'll have a boxed copy of the game before this demo finishes downloading... Can you say overloaded server?

    Let's make the problem worse, you can download it here.
     
  3. fblack thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fblack

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    System requirements look decent...

    You can run it on a G4, G5 or Intel that's not bad considering so many games are Intel only now. Thanks Feral for not forgeting the PowerPC crowd. :)

    System Requirements

    Minimum System Requirements (Macintosh)
    Mac OS 10.4 'Tiger'
    PowerPC G4 1.67 GHz
    512 MB RAM
    3D Graphics Card with 64 MB VRAM
    DVD Drive
    4 GB free hard disk space.
    Mouse and Keyboard

    Recommended System Requirements (Macintosh)
    Mac OS 10.4.8 or later
    PowerPC G5/Intel 2 GHz
    1 GB RAM
    3D Graphics Card with 128 MB VRAM
    DVD Drive
    4 GB free hard disk space.
    Gamepad / Steering Wheel
     
  4. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    I have waited ages for this game to finally get to the Mac.....
    And which release date did they choose? Yep, Leopard's! :D

    But, seriousely I am glad it is finally here. I'll buy it! You bet ya!

    Better late than never, dear Feral! ;)
     
  5. murfle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    #5
    I played through the 3 levels on the demo.

    Wow, not much of an improvement graphically from the 2003 version I had on my old PC, but runs so smooth at 1920x1200 with all the options bumped up on my mac pro w/ ati 1900XT 512mb.

    *starts to find the best price on a FF steering wheel*
     
  6. Much Ado macrumors 68000

    Much Ado

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Always good to see new games for the Mac :) If Apple really want more market-share, then this is the next proving ground.
     
  7. mateus macrumors member

    mateus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I'll drink to that! :D
     
  8. hankolerd macrumors 6502

    hankolerd

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #8
    you might try the demo before you go out and buy it if you are planning. the physics seemed pretty poor in my opinion. You can just throw your car around really easy, but then it just slides. It's pretty hard to drive with the keyboard too..maybe I am just out of practice. It's been a while since I have played a racing game on here. No I lie...I played the race 07 demo some. Well that is my experience anyway, hopefully some of you can enjoy it more than i did.:apple:
     
  9. mateus macrumors member

    mateus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    :eek: I can't believe people still do use a keyboard to play driving games!
     
  10. hankolerd macrumors 6502

    hankolerd

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #10
    i would get a wheel if i could afford it, but college sucks.;):apple:
     
  11. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #11
    First they need decent graphics in their popular consumer Macs (Macbook and Mini)
     
  12. fblack thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fblack

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    Maybe it was the time you dl it, only took me 14 minutes.

    Those wheels can be expensive, I've seen a logitech for like around $270. Instead maybe get a cheap $10 gamepad and usboverdrive ($20) software. usboverdrive lets you configure all your joysticks, pads and mice. I've got it because logitech makes lousy software.
     
  13. tardinha macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #13
    Controller recommendation

    Hey all.

    I've never really played PC games. In the old days, my housemate had a playstation and I'd play Gran Turismo and Colin McRae but that's about it. So, I'm not a gamer, but I saw that Colin McRae is out for the Mac, so I thought what the hey.

    My question is, what kind of controller should I look at getting? This will be my only game. Nothing else out there interests me (well, maybe a flight sim... maybe), so I don't wanna spend up big.

    Would something like this suffice?
    http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/gaming/pc_gaming/gamepads/devices/301&cl=au,en

    Or is there anything else out there similarly priced that anyone could recommend?

    Oh yeah, I'll be running it on a current model 17" HiRes MBP.

    Thanks

    Mark
     
  14. fblack thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fblack

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #14
    Feral has a page for supported USB devices:

    http://support.feralinteractive.com/index.php?x=&mod_id=2&id=14
     
  15. mateus macrumors member

    mateus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    If you can get a Playstation 2 to USB converter to work, get a PS2 pad! That's what I use on my Dell box & it's fantastic. :cool:
     
  16. tardinha macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #16
    I've always thought there should be PlayStation controllers for PCs :)

    Are there any driver issues?

     
  17. icecone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #17
    In other platforms this is called colin mcrae rally 2005:eek:
     
  18. bov macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
  19. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #19
    Pretty nice, I might buy it. Just tried it under Leopard on my iMac.
     
  20. tardinha macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #20
    Yeah, I'm pretty impressed. Although, I think my 30" ACD makes anything look nice :D

    Of course, this is the first game I have played since the original PlayStation in the late 90s, so that doesn't really count for much...
     
  21. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #21
    wasn't DiRT the latest Colin McRae game? I was under the impression that they just re-branded the series?
     
  22. fblack thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fblack

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #22
    Yea the demo said something about 70% code not the final quality of the game or something like that. It makes it hard to judge tho, I expect a 2005 title to look significantly better than a 2000 one. However, replaying the movies doesn't look bad. At some angles asphalt looks nice. :)

    I'm not happy with the sound, both cars I tried sound exactly the same and the cheering crowds that look like cardboard cutouts sound awful. Again I don't know if this is because the demo is of lesser quality than the regular game or if this is how they planned it. No race music?

    Demo recognized my logitech pad but wouldn't let me configure it within app. I may set it up with usboverdrive to run it. Haven't had time yet. This game bites with a keyboard, it definetely requires a more subtle touch. It obviously begs for a wheel which is out of my budget. I was excited about this game and it runs well on my G4, but I may wait to see reviews on the final full 100% code version before purchasing it.
     
  23. mateus macrumors member

    mateus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    You can simply plug a PS2 pad into a Windows box (via an adapter) & it'll work using default XP drivers - fully functional but without the rubble.

    You need the drivers to get the rubble but some drivers that come with the really cheap unbranded adapters can strew up the analogue sticks (up becomes left, right becomes down, etc).

    No one been able to get these working on a Mac?
     
  24. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #24
    It's not that bad, I noticed the 70% warning. On Leopard I have to keep on relaunching it when I open. They should fix that now that Leopard is out.

    I'm so sad.. Frenzic doesn't work anymore :(
     
  25. fblack thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fblack

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #25
    You probably have better specs than I, so you may be getting better eye candy.:)

    It might not be all leopard, I had it crash on me several times in Tiger while trying to select some options, but not once during the actual game.
     

Share This Page