College dating

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by greygray, Feb 28, 2010.

1. greygray macrumors 68000

greygray

So my nephew came to me this morning and asked me for advice on this. Being a very young father, I have NO experience on this and would like to seek the general community's advice. Here goes.

My nephew is in the same class as this girl. He got to know her for only 2 weeks and he's having a crush on her. They both like the same stuff (strawberry cheesecake). Whenever he sends her a text, she'll pepper the message with many "haha"s and smileys. He wants to ask her out, but doesn't know how since she's from the same class and he's shy.

Please help him answer these 2 questions:

1) Should he wait till her birthday to give her a gift and ask her out or just ask her out before her birthday?

2) How should he behave such that the girl will know that he likes her?

Help share advice please! :)

2. rhsgolfer33 macrumors 6502a

Ask her out before her birthday. If she isn't into him, it won't make her birthday terribly pleasant if she has to feel bad about rejecting someone for a date that she was just interested in being friends with.

He should really just ask her out. It might be hard for him to do since he is shy, but the simplest and most direct way to put this to rest is just to ask her out for coffee or dinner or something of the sort (I wouldn't do a movie, doesn't encourage conversation on a first date; it would be good to have some form of entertainment/distraction, however, because it can be difficult to carry an interesting conversation for a 2-3-4 hour period of time). All he really has to do is ask her if she is doing anything on X day and, if not, if she'd like to grab some dinner.

3. ®îçhå®? macrumors 68000

®îçhå®?