Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Apannone

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 11, 2009
Im a freshman in college and I just got a new macbook pro, Im switching from a desktop pc to a mac and I really like it so far, but thats not the point.

I wanted to start this thread to get some ideas on how everyone uses their macs at school and so forth and to swap ideas about this kind of stuff

so the first thing is that I am going to start taking notes on a laptop (which I don't see many people doing at my school.) but I was wondering how everyone organized their notes (folders in folders or some app) I am looking for an app that would make like... a virtual binder for my notes, and PDFs of scanned handouts etc... and then for anything I couldn't take notes of (pictures) i was thinking of taking a picture with my iphone =P I did this with some diagrams in my bio lab and it worked pretty well.

I have also been looking into working out a system for a sort of "paperless office" for school

Next, I have Microsoft office for my mac, but I have been looking more and more at iwork 09 and it seems really nice, any students prefer one or the other?

Any other tips?

twoodcc

macrumors P6
Feb 3, 2005
Right side of wrong
well, as far as notes, it really just depends on what you like. MS Word has a notebook format. and now you have outlines in pages 09, which might come in handy.

i've used both in college, and both are fine. i also used google docs, since i have more than one computer, and some classes i had to use windows, so i had all my stuff in one place on google docs.

and there are other note-taking apps out there. i've tried some, but none that really stood out to me. you just gotta figure out what works best for you, and that can help you do the best you can in school

zioxide

macrumors 603
Dec 11, 2006