Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

GrandPhrase

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 16, 2012
Hi, im currently a freshman at CMU. When i applied here, i applied to the math department. I thought it was what i wanted to do as it was the only subject i was good at in high school.

Well, now that i think about it, i dont like math - i deceived myself with the connection of what im good at is what i want to do. I merely thought i liked it.

Do you think business is a good major for someone who doesnt know what to major in? (I eventually have to pick one - right now i have absolutely nothing in mind except getting out and doing hip hop in Korea).

Is business a good major for those who dont know what to major in?

Just FYI - planning to get a bachelors or maybe Masters if i have the patience (as a backup plan incase hip hop does not yield financially, though it is what i love)

Please opine your thoughts please, thanks.

I would really appreciate your thoughts as i am depressed lately, though i dont want to admit it - just lying in bed all day havent worked all day and may be failing some classes.

vastoholic

macrumors 68000
Jan 28, 2009
Tulsa, OK
I would hold off as long as possible in declaring a major. I switched majors 4 times my first time I was in college and it really hindered my progress, mostly because I would move to completely different degree and some credits wouldn't count towards the new degree.

I went from Graphic Design, to accounting, to Fire Protection and Safety Technology during my first 3 1/2 years of school. Then after being deployed I tried my hand in Photography classes online and then took a few more under Business Management. After having a job working around a certain fortune 500 company, I realized I should have followed my passion I discovered in 2004 to begin with. So now I'm back in college after a 5 year break and doing Computer Science.