College n00b needs assistance

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by alangheim, May 25, 2009.

1. alangheim macrumors newbie

Hello all, I'm going to be a freshman in college this fall and really need help deciding and purchasing a macbook. I have been researching features and specs for a few months now, but now that I actually have to purchase one- I'm drawing blank. I'm planning on getting the new aluminum Macbook, but can't decide which model to get (2.0 ghz or 2.4) In addition, if you could share where you got yours and prices etc. I will be studying business, and the laptop will essentially be my technologic "hub" for the next 5 years. Any insight you have for me will be greatly appreciated! :eek:

2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

honestly, id get the white macbook. has firewire and is cheaper while having essentially the same specs

3. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

I think the base alu MB will be fine for you. There's no major differences between those two: 2.4GHz model has faster processor and bigger HD, but that's it. If there's Apple Store near you but it from there, it's the best place to buy a Mac. But if you don't, look at MacMall's and ClubMac's prices, they usually have little lower prices

4. jmann macrumors 604

jmann

bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    I have the 2.0. Only get the 2.4 if you have the extra money the performance difference isn't really noticable. I got the EPP discount so I got a bit over $100 off when I bought it at the apple store.

5. alangheim thread starter macrumors newbie

I contemplated that, and appreciate the suggestion. But for me, it doesn't seem practical to purchase last year's model- especially when I am tethered to my choice for a minimum of 5 years. We all know that technology becomes obsolete rapidly, and I am no computer savvy person- so upgrading isn't really an option for me. If you were to get a (new) macbook, would you go 2.4 or 2.0

6. dukebound85 macrumors P6