College Student, about to buy a new iMac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by DominusNovus, Aug 7, 2007.

1. DominusNovus macrumors member

Pretty self-explanatory title. I'm in college, have had a 1.6Ghz PowerMac G5 for just under 4 years now. Gotten some good years out of it, but its time to get something new. And, I really don't need a Mac Pro. The only reason I'd want one is for gaming, and I'm not much of a gamer anymore (and what I do play is primarily strategy games, not exactly graphics-hogs).

So, I'm gonna go for an iMac. Probably the 2.8Ghz 24-inch. Figured I'd get some advice from you guys before taking the plunge. I'm a business student, so I won't really need any of the fancy stuff (might spring for iWork).

Primarily, how should I customize it?
    I know the Memory upgrades are horrendously expensive through Apple, and easy to install yourself, so I'll probably stay standard there. Any particular suggestions for where to purchase the memory, should I decide to upgrade?
    How 'bout the Hard Drive? I doubt I'll need a Terabyte of space, though it'd be cool to have.
    And, how about... oh wait, thats really it for customization now. I definitely going for the full keyboard, don't really need the wireless one anyway. Might get iWork, definitely don't need any of the other software. Don't need .Mac, don't need a modem.
    I'm on the fence about Apple Care. I've *never* had problems with my desktops, but this'll be the first time I get one thats just recently released, so I'm not so certain.

Other than that, what do people think I could get for my 1.6Ghz PowerMac G5? Macofalltrades estimates $425, which doesn't sound too bad, though I probably could get a little better on ebay, I think. Add in the monitor I have (Planar, think its 17"), and I might be able to squeeze out another $100 maybe?

So, whats the advice?

2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

iBookG4user