College Student Brand New To the MacBook Platform

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by g.fabian, Apr 9, 2011.

1. g.fabian macrumors newbie

Hey there everyone I'm very new to the Mac platform. I'm a college student going to a community college about to transfer to a university. I wanted to get a new laptop because my iPad wasn't cutting it but I'm really sick of buying PC because I don't like Windows and all of the machines I've ever had go to hell after a year or so.

I purchased a used MB from someone on craigslist 2 days ago and I was just wondering if anyone had any idea of a few good programs I should install for school, or any tips or thoughts or comments whatsoever for a new mac user who is also in school.

I'm majoring in business management and I already installed a fresh copy of Office 2011.
    :apple:

2. msjones macrumors 6502

msjones

Congratulations on your purchase.

Your question really depends on your uses for your MacBook. Office is good for writing papers etc. If you are using it in class then something like evernote is great for taking notes (also available on iPad). I assume you have the iLife suite to take care of your personal media needs? If you download torrent content then tranmission is a good app to look at. Adium for chat and messaging.

This list over at lifehacker should get you started.

3. Macsavvytech macrumors 6502a

Macsavvytech

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

Also invade you didn't already know, there is no useful anti virus for Mac, all Mac anti virus does I pick up windows viruses so you don't pass them on. Sorry just had a few people talking about this so I thought it was a good idea you completely understood from
    The beginning.

4. g.fabian thread starter macrumors newbie