College student looking for advice

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by MrJSmi, Jan 25, 2012.

1. MrJSmi macrumors newbie

So, this being my first post - glad to find a site and place that is all about Apple/Mac.

Now to my situation...
    I'm a finishing college student. Won't be more than a year and I'll be out of college. My degree is in communications and I'll hopefully be getting a job that requires me to do some traveling. With that being said, I already own a black MacBook late-2008 that is 2 OS behind so it lacks the little extra perks but nothing to much that I'm hurting.
    I have been looking at the MBA a lot over the past year. I know the quick pros are: slim, quick start up (thanks to the SSD), etc. and the cons being: small storage amount, lacking power of the MBP, the need of an ext. drive, etc. ***If anyone would like to add to the pros or cons, please feel free too***

My idea for the uses of the MBA are watching a movie on trips, quick emailing, FB/Twitter/forums, basic organization. All these uses sound reasonable for the MBA but what which MBA would be best appropriate for it with cost being a factor? What about the wait for a refresh? Should I look toward new and better models?

2. roofz macrumors regular

Given what you have said your intentions are, the MBA sounds perfect for you.

You don't need a supercomputer for the tasks you mentioned (surfing the net, watching movies, notes/organization), and it seems like portability is important for you (traveling).

It appears that the primary drawback you have regarding the MBA is the lack of a CD drive. We're in 2012, you can just download the movies to your SSD or stream on netflix (many airlines offer complimentary wifi nowadays :D).

The choice is yours!

3. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

Jaro65