College student new to Macs

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Jordyquint, May 29, 2013.

1. Jordyquint macrumors newbie

I am fairly new to Macs, although I have used iMacs at my high school. I am going to start college in the fall so I am looking for a new laptop. Right now, I can't afford a new mac, so I'm looking for anything below $900. I am really into videography and photography, so I'll have a lot of images/videos to deal with. Right now I only use Lightroom 4 to edit, but I plan to purchase a video editing program and CS6 whenever I get the money which will be awhile... So it won't be on the computer right away.

I found a mid 2009 13-inch MacBook Pro for sale on Craigslist for $500. Should I shoot for a newer one? Or will this one be fine in the long run? I know they can last for years.

I was originally looking for a Pro, but I've been reading comments on the Air and now I'm not sure. Whatever I get, I think it has to be use though.

It'll be used for writing papers and browsing the web too.

Thanks for the help!

2. r0k macrumors 68040

r0k

I picked up a 13 in MBP for my son in 2009 when he started college. At the time I think it was about $1,000 at Microcenter which tends to offer the base MBP at about $100 off almost all the time. I believe Frys does the same thing.

It has served him well but I wouldn't recommend that model for somebody starting out now, especially since you mention you will be using CS6 which can be resource hungry on any platform. I would try to stick with anything newer than mid 2011. I don't recommend the MBA if you are looking at used Macbooks as older MBA models had poor graphics performance and small RAM and internal storage.