Colour out on shut down? please help!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by thealpha1, Mar 3, 2017.

  1. thealpha1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    #1
    Hi all.

    Purchased a brand new, 27" iMac with SSD last September - works great, the only *issue* I have, is when sometimes I shut down the machine, around 3 seconds before complete shut off, the screen will display LOADS of colours, everywhere.. kind of like it's a graphical issue or something? do not have a clue what's going on, just wondered if anyone else has experienced something like this before?
     
  2. YatBob macrumors regular

    YatBob

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #2
    Mine does the same, often wondered about it, but since I have seen no other display issues while using the iMac decided to wait and see if any other display issues occur before investigating further, glad you brought this up, never saw this mentioned before and sometimes wonder if what I was seeing was normal or unusual, I rarely shut my machine down so tend to forget about it
     
  3. thealpha1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    #3
    Ah, so you're having the same issue? - I'm guessing it'll probably never happen, but I am worried that the graphics card could burn out?
     
  4. apppen1 macrumors regular

    apppen1

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    #4
    This has been a confirmed bug by Apple in macOS sierra. Unfortunately the new beta versions still don't fix the issue.
     
  5. thealpha1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    #5
    Ah, that makes me feel better!

    Do you have an official link you could send me that this is a confirmed bug?
     
  6. apppen1 macrumors regular

    apppen1

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    #6
    There was this thread on Apple forums with everyone experiencing the same issue on their iMacs with Sierra. Some sent feedback to Apple and they said the bug was known and were working to fix it. Also it only happens on Sierra since I went back to El Capitan I didn't have any problems.
     

Share This Page