com.apple.springboard requesting location?

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by nerdriot, Jan 22, 2016.

  1. nerdriot macrumors regular

    nerdriot

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #1
    [​IMG]
    After updating to 9.3 PB1 and resetting all settings, I noticed this in my location settings for com.apple.springboard. Any idea what this is about? TIA, guys.
     
  2. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #2
    Never seen that before and not present on my iPhone 6 running 9.3 beta 1.

    That's a puzzler.
     
  3. nerdriot thread starter macrumors regular

    nerdriot

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #3
    It really is confusing. I'm not sure what else to do other than use Feedback and send a screenshot of it. But even that won't solve the mystery of why it's there.

     
  4. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
  5. iPhoneguy86 macrumors regular

    iPhoneguy86

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Location:
    East Coast USA
    #5
    It's an app that failed to update or download completely. Go to your App Store updates or to the list of the apps that your in and delete it then re-download it. It's actually been quite common since iOS 9.2.1 beta.
     
  6. nerdriot thread starter macrumors regular

    nerdriot

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #6
    Thanks! I'll give it a shot.
     
  7. s2mike macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    #7
    How did this pan out for you, OP?

    I just had it show up for me in the official 9.3 release and can't figure out how to get rid of it.

    Thanks.
     
  8. nerdriot thread starter macrumors regular

    nerdriot

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #8
    Unfortunately, the only way to remove it for me was to do a factory reset (which I've put off long enough).

    Sorry that I can't provide a quicker (and less painful!) solution.

    Prost!
     
  9. s2mike macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    #9
    Thanks for the info.

    I'm wondering what would happen if I were to do a factory reset and then restore from a backup...not sure if that glitch is now embedded in my backup file.
     
  10. monnyblack1 macrumors regular

    monnyblack1

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Location:
    meridian ms
  11. s2mike macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    #11
    Nope, no jailbreak here.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 23, 2016 ---
    Another question - what exactly would happen if I toggled the main Location Services 'kill switch' to OFF and then back to ON?

    I'm too scared to do it right now, but will switching it off and back on restore all of my location-based app settings, or will it all be wiped and I'll be forced to manually open each app and re-grant them access to my location?
     
  12. monnyblack1 macrumors regular

    monnyblack1

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Location:
    meridian ms
    #12
    Oh ok I had this to happen one time when I was jail broken that's why I ask
     
  13. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #13
    The individual app permissions will remain there as I recall.
     
  14. mattysouthall macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #14
    Go to Settings > General > Reset and select "Rest Location & Privacy". That should clear it out.
     
  15. s2mike macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    #15
    Thanks!

    Ended up doing a clean restore of iOS 9.3 last night for the heck of it, which worked too.
     
  16. Maskusee macrumors 6502a

    Maskusee

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #16
    Worked like a charm.
    Thank you for the fix !
     

Share This Page