Combining Networks?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by wcalderini, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. wcalderini macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    #1
    This may be a stupid question so forgive me in advance.
    Having moved to a new apartment and realizing that my cellular coverage
    was nil (bottom floor, inside a hill somewhat, and surrounded by trees), I had to get a land line installed to be able to get telephone service.
    They gave me a pretty good bundle deal with a DSL line.
    Already having internet provided via a nice cable package that I also
    have bundled I figured I would check out both to see what I liked best.

    So now I have both.

    My question.

    Is there anyway possible to "combine" the networks to achieve a faster
    internet experience?

    I am thinking of adding an appleTV to the mix for HD rentals and I was wondering if combining the 2 would increase my bandwidth.
    (I worry about "taxing" my cable system as I already am using it for both internet and HDTV content)

    If I can increase the speed and reliability I could justify the expense of keeping them both, if not I will have a choice to make.

    Any advice would be appreciated.
    Thanks in advance.

    WRC

    iMac Alum 20 4GB
     
  2. NAG macrumors 68030

    NAG

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    /usr/local/apps/nag
    #2
    No, not really. It would probably be cheaper to just upgrade one of the lines to get more bandwidth than to do something crazy like that.
     
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    Nothing crazy about it. It's called load balancing and is commonly used in business settings. Apparently it is also implemented in some home routers.

    http://www.dlink.com/products/?sec=1&pid=452

    B
     
  4. NAG macrumors 68030

    NAG

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    /usr/local/apps/nag
    #4
    Yes, I know. I managed a server that did that too. Still, doubt he needs it unless he is running a server or has a lot of employees or something.
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    Who said anything about "need". :p The OP asked if more effective bandwidth could be had and the answer is yes, but it don't come for free.

    Let's just assume he actually needs a lot of bandwidth, say for torrenting. He could get a benefit from load balancing then as one line could be used for torrents and the other for "non-torrent" stuff.

    B
     
  6. NAG macrumors 68030

    NAG

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    /usr/local/apps/nag
    #6
    Okay fine if you're addicted to torrenting and need a bunch of bandwidth then yes you can do this.
     
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    LOL. Who knows why anyone needs more bandwidth.

    Maybe they just want to start their own camgirl or porn site. :p

    B
     
  8. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #8
    There are several $75-$125 load balancing routers on the market. You could always pick one up from eBay as well. A nice D-Link one is the DI-LB604. Two WAN connections and 3 LAN port for about $60 on eBay.

    TEG
     
  9. wcalderini thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    #9
    Thanks for the advice.
    Guess I will "investigate" a few routers.
    I appreciate the help.

    WRC
     

Share This Page