Comcast capping internet data

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by AllergyDoc, Oct 6, 2016.

  1. AllergyDoc macrumors 65816

    AllergyDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Location:
    Utah, USA
    #1
    Just got an email from Comcast announcing they're capping our data now:

    IMG_1136.jpg

    We use about 130GB/month, so it shouldn't affect us.

    Unless they lower the allowed amount.
     
  2. Fancuku macrumors 6502a

    Fancuku

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Location:
    PA, USA
    #2
    That sucks. I have Verizon FiOS and was thinking of switching to Comcast but I don't know if it will be a good idea. Between wife, me and the kids we use about 800GB a month right now.
     
  3. AllergyDoc thread starter macrumors 65816

    AllergyDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Location:
    Utah, USA
    #3
    $10 for each 50GB overage is brutal. We only pay $87/mo for cable and 150 mb internet (for 2 years).
     
  4. Zenithal macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #4
    My current ISP allows 500 GB of data month, but they don't track it and do not place any caps. However, if you routinely abuse your service, they will send you a warning. You can call in and have them put a note on your account that you'll be using excessive data for a while for whatever legitimate reason and they're happy to oblige.

    Despite their constant wire cuts, they're a decent ISP. 1 TB is a large amount and I can't imagine many households hitting that limit for the time being.
     
  5. millerj123 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #5
    It used to be the additional $10 for each 50GB over 350. I was glad to see it bumped to 1 TB, but I can't use any of the good words I want on the forum to describe Comcast.
     
  6. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #6
    Well if you want to feel better about it I just moved to rural Alaska and my options for Internet start a 15GB cap for $75 a month and the top option is a 100GB cap for $315 a month. And if you go over you get charged by the MB. I'm currently just using cellular data...
     
  7. AllergyDoc thread starter macrumors 65816

    AllergyDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Location:
    Utah, USA
  8. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #8
    Yeah though there is apparently a new undersea fiber optic cable that will be coming online in the spring so hopefully those prices come down and the caps go up in a few months. But other than the internet prices I'm loving it out here.
     
  9. AllergyDoc thread starter macrumors 65816

    AllergyDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Location:
    Utah, USA
    #9
    Our neighbors have lived in Alaska for many years. The woman is retired and I think the man is ready to retire, fir the second time. They're the only people I know who winter in Utah. :D
     
  10. JackieInCo macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Location:
    Colorado
    #10
    I got the email for this Thursday night. Last month, I was downloading a lot of shows from the iTunes store to keep on an external drive. Comcast shows that I used 1556GB that month. It looks like they charged me $20 extra for that month because my bio was $20 higher then it normally is and looking at my bill, I couldn't tell what the extra $20 was for.

    I used to have Century link and rarely went over 1TB. They had a soft 1TB limit and only enforced it if I went over several months in a row which I only did three months out of several years. I switched to Comcast a year ago because my CenturyLink service went down in August a year ago. They could not figure out what was wrong so I switched to Comcast.

    ITB isn't so bad. I've only gone over that amount once in this past year.
     
  11. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #11
    To me people want HD TV shows streaming and don't think enough of their ISP data cap fees!
     
  12. MacNut macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    #12
    The problem will be when 4K streaming becomes the norm.
     
  13. AllergyDoc thread starter macrumors 65816

    AllergyDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Location:
    Utah, USA
    #13
    This seems to be the norm for ya'll, having your internet capped, but it's my first. Good thing there's only two of us here.
     

Share This Page