Comcast/Xfinity modem?

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by Splitbolt, Jul 28, 2015.

  1. Splitbolt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #1
    Due to issues with FIOS, it looks like I am going to have to go back to Comcast (who I believe is now called Xfinity) for Internet service.

    They want $10/month for modem rental, but they said I could purchase my own.

    I was wondering if there was any consensus on which modem/wifi router is a good deal? I use internet only, no phone.
     
  2. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #2
    Cable?

    http://mydeviceinfo.comcast.net/

    From that list of ALL approved modems, I have the Motorola SB6141 on Time Warner and have been happy. Of course, make sure it'll work with the tier you subscribe to.

    I would avoid (at all costs) getting a combo modem and router and get separate devices for those functions. I'm using a Netgear WNDR3700 and am also happy with that, though it doesn't support 802.11AC.
     
  3. Splitbolt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #3
    I own the Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I router that I have been using with FIOS. It's an N router which is more than good enough for me. I wonder if I can use that with a Comcast/Xfinity modem?
     
  4. riviera74 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Location:
    Fort Myers FL
    #4
    I disagree with hallux on the combo thing. A very good combo device (especially if you have multiple wired devices) is the Zoom AC1900 cable modem/WiFi router. A lot of positive reviews on Amazon and it is cheaper than the Motorola equivalent.
     
  5. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #5
    I have been looking at the Arris/Motorola SB6183. It is pricey but the only modem that Time Warner supports for 300 Mbps speeds.
     
  6. Splitbolt, Jul 28, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2015

    Splitbolt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #6
    That model is not showing up on the list of approved Comcast modems that hallux posted.

    It seems as if I will be able to use my Verizon Actiontec router with a Comcast modem, so that's good. I just need to find a modem to use. The ARRIS / Motorola SurfBoard SB6121 is $52 on Amazon, has great reviews, and will work with my speed package (25Mbps) as well as much faster packages.
     
  7. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #7
    One advantage of the SB6141 is that it can use more channels, so even if you won't be exceeding the maximum speed of the SB6121, having more channels to use can improve performance if your area's network is congested.
    I am not a fan of the combination router/cable modem devices.
     
  8. Splitbolt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #8
    What do you mean when you say the SB6141 can use more channels than the SB6121? What type of channels are you referring to?
     
  9. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #9
    There's probably far more information than you need here: http://www.highspeedexperts.com/know-your-docsis/
     
  10. z31fanatic macrumors 6502a

    z31fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Location:
    Mukilteo, WA USA
    #10
    OP doesn't sound like he needs any advanced features and for the speeds that he is subscribed to, the 6121 will be plenty.
    Save your money and get the 6121. You'll be fine.
     
  11. Splitbolt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #11
    Yeah, I actually had the 50mbps plan with FIOS and downgraded to the 15mbps plan and didn't notice a single difference. Maybe an iOS update took 30 seconds longer lol. So 25mbps should be fine for me.
     
  12. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #12
    One problem with that - cable operators are improving speeds in areas, once that comes to the OP's area they'll be left behind at 100 Mbps, the max speed of the 6121. The 6183 would be even better for this but the 6141 will support up to 300 Mbps according to the Amazon page for it.

    For the price of the 6141 compared to the 6121, it's worth it. It was also noted by another poster - on congested nodes, the ability to jump to a different channel (similar to switching channels on your WiFi in a congested area) can help your performance by being able to utilize a less-congested channel.
     
  13. Splitbolt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #13
    The 6121 can still switch channels tho, correct?

    FWIW, 100mbps is WAY more than I will ever need in any realistic time frame. By the time I need 100+mbps, there will probably be other standards and stuff requiring me to upgrade the modem anyway. As I mentioned earlier, I am perfectly fine with 15mbps.
     
  14. Splitbolt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #14
    Wow, the SB6121 went from $52 earlier today to $74.77 right now. Damn you Amazon!

    If its still like that tomorrow, I'll definitely go for the SB6141 for $89.
     
  15. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #15
    Yes but there aren't as many options for different channels to use. For the $15 difference (looking at the first 2 listings on Amazon, one for each model), I'd consider it worth the price difference.
     
  16. Splitbolt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #16
    Yes, I agree at that price difference ($74 vs. $89) it's worth it to step up. Earlier it was only $52 for the 6121.
     
  17. riviera74 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Location:
    Fort Myers FL
    #17
    The listing on that Comcast approved modems includes a Zoom Telephonics 5363 (Retail), which is the one I was referring to. Sure, you can get a Motorola SBG6782-AC (Retail), but that high-end cable modem/router combo costs more.
     
  18. Splitbolt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #18
    So I ordered the SB6141 as recommended.

    Now I just have to figure out how to get the FIOS router to work with it. Currently the router connects with a coax cable instead of an Ethernet cable. I'll probably have to reconfigure it somehow.
     
  19. riviera74 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Location:
    Fort Myers FL
    #19
    What is the make and model of that FIOS router?
     
  20. Splitbolt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #20
    Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I
     
  21. riviera74 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Location:
    Fort Myers FL
    #21
    You can either connect the SB6141 to the router's Ethernet WAN port or better yet, use a WiFi router's Ethernet WAN port to accomplish the same thing.
     
  22. Splitbolt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #22
    Yes, I will have to connect it via an ethernet cable. What I meant when I said reconfigure it was that I believe the WAN port might be turned off since the router is currently using the coax port and MOCA to connect to the FIOS modem. I believe I have to switch it in the settings. I would also like to turn off whatever port Verizon uses to go into the router remotely.
     

Share This Page