Command + C won't copy

Discussion in 'macOS' started by rehak69, Feb 6, 2009.

  1. rehak69 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #1
    my Command + C won't copy anything anymore. at all in any application. I'm not sure what I did but this overbearing because I use these shortcuts constantly. help por favor.
     
  2. MrM macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Have you done anything yourself to try and solve the problem? (ie- restart, software update, etc)
     
  3. mrkgoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    #3
    Check that both your command and 'C' key are functioning.
     
  4. okrelayer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
  5. rehak69 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #5
    I restarted my mac.
    I software updated it.
    and my C key and my command key both work fine.
     
  6. rehak69 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #6
    can no one figure this out, this has never happened before?
     
  7. pwn247 macrumors 6502

    pwn247

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Location:
    West Virginia, USA
    #8
    System Preferences > Keyboard & Mouse > Keyboard tab > (at the bottom) Modifier Keys...

    Make sure they're all set to what they're supposed to be. :)
     
  8. rehak69 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #9
    no luck with that guys..
    so far i've tried to restart, i tried restoring defaults, is there like a place where i can see every command even the command c, v, x the ones like that.. i mean i can always just command cut command paste but that only works for some things, this has been boggling me for like a month especially when you live by hotkeys. and its not like im computer illiterate ive taken all the necessary steps.. idk its aggravating thanks for the quick responses though.:mad:
     
  9. Ugimom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    #10
    Have you you maybe installed something in which you inadvertently configured Command-C to do something other than Copy? If the problem is consistent/persistent, it's likely something "global"--a background process, a preference pane, a startup item.

    If you create a new user, or do a safe boot (restart holding the Shift key), which disables all the optional stuff, does Command-C work? If so, that would help you start narrowing it down.
     
  10. rehak69 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #11
    yah when i safe boot it works.. what should i do.
     
  11. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    I found the thread I was trying to locate earlier where someone was having the same issue. The better info is near the end of the thread (when is the good stuff ever at the top?).
     
  12. rehak69 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009

Share This Page