command k conflict

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jvmxtra, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. jvmxtra macrumors 65816

    jvmxtra

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #1
    Hello,

    I have a conflict in keyboard shortcuts.

    I was using command k combo to change between the language input(korean <-> English).

    I also want to use shortcut for 'connect to server', but it is also tied to command k shortcuts.

    What is the osx's intention behind this? Is there anyway I can change them -- either of them's default keyboard shortcut?

    Please let me know.

    thank you.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    You could change the "Connect to Server" shortcut in System Preferences >>> Keyboard >> Keyboard Shortcuts.
     
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    Hmm, I thought the default for switching input languages was Command-Space. Did you customise it in the first place?

    Here are the defaults on my system:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. jvmxtra thread starter macrumors 65816

    jvmxtra

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    Yes, I did and I simply forgot how to change to different.
    I change it to command L(for language which makes more sense).

    thank you.

    Also, I don't like the fact that command k(to connect to remote server) only works in finder's page.(which means I have to go to the desktop first by clearing what I have on the screen and then press command k)

    Does anyone else find this annoying?
     
  5. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #5
    No. You can change the "Connect to Server..." shortcut there. ;)

    Without the ellipsis the shortcut will not be recognized; I know because I just made that mistake and needed ten minutes to discover it!
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    You could use CMD+TAB to switch to the Finder, no need to clear the windows, and then press CMD+K, which all in all should take about a second.
     
  7. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #7
    Or simply click on the Finder icon in the Dock. You don't have to be on the Desktop to do it, just in the Finder application.
     

Share This Page