Command + S doesn't work

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Aleco, Oct 29, 2009.

  1. Aleco macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #1
    It's been couple weeks that my Command + S hasn't been working, on anything. It just gives me that stupid alert sound and that is it.

    I run 10.6.1. Anyone have this issue, or know whats wrong?
     
  2. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #2
    I can guess, but that's about it. Doesn't work on anything, so it's not software. Maybe the keyboard, or the port is defective. Try plugging it in to another port, or try a different keyboard. Hope you can, but you don't mention the model of your Mac.

    How old is the keyboard/computer?
     
  3. Aleco thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #3
    Macbook Pro, 3 months old, 2009 latest revision.

    It used to work, all of a sudden it stopped working.

    Shift + Command + S works though...
     
  4. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #4
    Now that is odd! Makes it seem like it's not a keyboard issue, but since it's a MacBook, I'm not sure how to test that. Sorry. (Always good to provide basic info about your setup, including OS and version of app not working, in such cases.)
     
  5. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    Have you tested different applications? TextEdit is always a good test candidate. If it doesn't work there, then I suspect an errant keyboard shortcut as the cause. To check this, go to System Preferences, then Keyboard. Click the shortcuts tab/pane.
     
  6. Aleco thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #6
    Any application that uses Command + S as shortcut, does not work. It's very weird, I'll give it a shot on another user account.

    I just created a new account and the commands work just fine. I tried restoring my keyboard to default, I've tried a restart, log out, nothing worked.
     
  7. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #7
    If it works on another account, it's something in your user directory. I recommend pulling com.apple.systempreferences.plist and com.apple.universalaccess.plist from /Users/(yourname)/Library/Preferences to the Trash, and then doing the restart.
     
  8. AaronX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    I think some other app is capturing Cmd+S as a global keyboard shortcut, so it doesn't get sent to the app you want to.
     
  9. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #9
    Then the OP hasn't found it.

    What he said. And if pulling the plist files doesn't do it, you'll spend about the same amount of time switching to a new account as you would continuing to guess at other causes. The former will fix it, the latter might not. Deleting an account produces an option to save your key files from that account so you can import them into a new one.
     
  10. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    sure something else isn't using it?

    I used to have that problem, then discovered "text to speech" settings set "command + S" to speak selected text. I changed it to 'Command + T' and then the problem was solved. :D
     
  11. Aleco thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #11
    Stupid speech thing, looks like i.shaun was right. My speech key was set to Command+S, I changed it to Command+T.

    Thanks everyone, problem solved!
     
  12. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #12
    Aaron had the issue nailed. i.Shaun removed the haystack so the needle could be found. Good work!
     

Share This Page