Comparing Cameras?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by mrcowdude20, Oct 3, 2011.

1. mrcowdude20 macrumors regular

Hello, I am wondering which camera is best for the price. I want the lowest price for what I am doing. I am new to photography and was wondering what would be the best for landscape and for people mostly, but a taste of everything else.

Here's the cameras:
    Nikon D3000
    Nikon D3100
    Canon EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
    Canon EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
    Canon EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Kit

Again for the price which is best? Also, do you have any of them? Do you like it? Any other options you would add?

2. davidinva, Oct 3, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2011

davidinva macrumors 6502a

I have the Canon 450XSi as my only DSLR. I have only owned Canon and can't speak to Nikons. As for Canon, the T3 is designed for those who want to shoot video as well as stills. If you go Canon and want to shoot photos only, I would recommend the 450 IS plus the 55-250 longer lens. The Nikon folks can recommend the best buy there. I will add that I have a Panasonic SZ6 point and shoot and now use that for 80% of my photography. Reason: I take it with me most of the time. I keep the Canon for those occasions (action shots) when I need it.

3. compuwar macrumors 601

compuwar

Any of these will do what you want as well as any of the others. Go to a store and handle them and see if you have a favorite. If not, flip a coin.

Paul

4. Designer Dale macrumors 68040

Designer Dale

I have the XSi. It's a good camera but keep in mind that it's been discontinued for a while now. I don't really know if that means anything.

Canon, Nikon and Pentax all make good cameras and have competing models. Find a camera shop and see which feels best in your hands. The L lenses from Canon are considered by some to be the best in the world, but you really pay for it.

Dale

5. Neous macrumors member

Neous