Compatibility problems with 2007 MBP DVI Video Adapter?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dab3, Sep 22, 2007.

  1. dab3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    #1
    I've been here strange things about incompatibility issues with certain video cards and the Apple DVI Video Adapter (S-Video + Composite).

    Therefore I'm wondering if the DVI Adapter is compatible with the 8600M GT MBP Graphics Card... or should I be cancelling my order for the Adapter. (Plus if there is any alternative for S-Video Adapter Hook-up for the MBP15")

    Also one other thing. If there isn't any issue with the 2007 MBP Model and the Apple DVI Adapter, just wondering if there is some sort of Option on the mac for auto resolution calibration so I'm not faced with any black borders around the Video when Displayed on the Television Set. Always had that problem with my previous Laptop.

    Thanks!
     
  2. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #2
    I know that on my MacBook i can hook it up to anything with the MiniDVI adapters and it always displays at the best resolutions. Hooking it up to a TV yields 800*600 4:3 and it looks pretty decent. The only issue is that it isnt totally happy with maintaining 1280*800 on the MacBook while connected to TV. However, when I hooked up to a 23" Cinema Series at school over DVI, it looked great and both it and the MacBook ran at default res.

    However, just so i am clear with what you are describing...

    You have hooked up the DVI-Whatever adapter to a standard desktop video card? And if yes, that card would then display things a little wonky? Were these cards on Windows machines?
     
  3. dab3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    #3
    Well I haven't actually received my MacBook Pro yet, but it's going to be shipped soon. I'm just wondering if the DVI (not the miniDVI) would be compatible with the MBP 15".

    But yeah, the issues I was having with the Windows XP Based Laptop I used to have was that it did have the issue of not fully adjusting to the full resolution of the TV, having black bars on the outside, from top/bottom/left/right sides.

    Thanks again for the reply.
     

Share This Page