Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mm.vermelha

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 10, 2010
Hello, there!

I tried searching about compiling before begging for help, but it seems the more I read, the less I understand.

I'm not a programmer and I know very little about it (which means nothing), but I need to install a C++ application, and I do realize that demands compiling the files, but I really have no idea of how. I do have the developer tools installed, from what I gathered I'll need xcode?

I downloaded the software (http://sourceforge.net/projects/reclink/), which got me a folder called src, which contains more folders - one in particular named Build as a makefile, a document with a long code.

Where do I go from there? Can someone please make a step by step for dummies that I can follow?

I swear, afterwards I'll study some programming.. I just need this to work, otherwise I'll have to install Windows and my Macbook loading Windows is my worse nightmare.

Thank you! And I'm truly sorry if my question seems stupid, but I'm beyond lost.

mac2x

macrumors 65816
Sep 19, 2009
The very simplest way is to write and save your source file and compile in the terminal with g++; be sure you are in the directory your source file resides in.

Code:
$ g++ -o {name your executable} {file_name}.cpp

NOTE: The braces {} mean items that are replaced by the actual file name and any name you want to give your executable. Do not include the {} in the actual command!

However, if you created an Xcode project, just click Build, or to run the executable if the compile is successful, Build and Go.

[edit] Oh sorry, I didn't read your post closely...you want to know how to compile existing source code. My bad! :eek:

[further edit]