Complete iMac HDD copy - how to?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by AdiosVista, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. AdiosVista macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #1
    My new iMac has the flickering problem so I'm returning to get a new one. The problem is I've already gone and added all my files and applications to the faulty Mac and am not looking forward to doing it again. Is it possible to copy the entire drive (I have the single 2TB drive in the current machine) to the new one? I've been keeping Time Machine backups - would it be as simple as starting the new machine and plugging in my Time Machine external drive? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. TwitchOSX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    #2
    I came here today to ask basically this exact question.

    I have a DP 2.5 G5 and my main HD is getting full and the computer is being REALLY slow. I'd like to copy the entire contents of the drive to a larger external HD and then pull it from the external and put it in the machine.

    Can I just copy everything to a new drive and then boot from it?
     
  3. TwitchOSX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    #3
    Hmm... I did a quick search online...

    Looks like if you boot your computer from the DVD that came with the computer, and go into Disk Utility you can make a clone of your HD in there.
     
  4. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Yes, as long as TM is kept up to date then you can just attach it to your new machine and restore via disk utility.

    Carbon Copy Cloner (if you don't have Time Machine running)
     
  5. TwitchOSX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  6. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #7
    It's incredibly simple you don't need SuperDuper, CCC or anything else as long as you have a Time Machine backup. When you get the new machine on the first boot as part of Startup Assistant it will ask you if you want to restore from Time Machine, simply say yes and you're done. This will bring over EVERYTHING to your new iMac.

    There is no need to get any more complex.
     

Share This Page