Complete noob again... just upgraded from a 4 year old mac.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by rye9, Jun 21, 2009.

1. rye9 macrumors 65816

rye9

Well, yesterday I bought the new base model of the 13" MBP... and overnight I let it run migration assistant... so when I woke up the data from my old iBook transferred to the new MBP. Upon completion of setting it up however, an error message occurred notifying me that something didn't complete or go through... however I can click somewhere in one of my folders to go back to it. Does anybody know what this is? I forget :eek:

Anyways, then I fiddled with system preferences, and repaired permissions and now it's downloading probably a gig of software updated as I type this on my old mac. So I have a few questions....

1) Well, the first was in my first paragraph lol

2) What should I do to my new MBP to optimize it? Specifically, I know when I got my iBook I cleared languages and printer drivers I think. So.... where/how do I do this again and what else should I do?

3) I thought trial software should be on there... like Filemaker and what not. Don't get me wrong I'm glad it's not because I would delete it anyways... but I didn't know if something fishy happened. (answered)

4) This might be fixed after the software update sand restart... but I tried arranging my applications in Finder by name and everytime I close the window and reopen it... it's back to it's standard arrangement which is NOT by name (alphabetical). Also, the time is off by a few hours... I changed it to the correct time zone but still nothing. Again, maybe it'll be fixed in a few when it restarts.