Completely mystified about Titan's 2.5 Gt/s Link Speed

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by TheHerdForever, Mar 4, 2014.

  1. TheHerdForever macrumors member

    TheHerdForever

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #1
    MacRumors Guru's:

    After purchasing a flashed Titan (GK110-A) video card from MacVideoCards, I noticed that I have a link speed of 2.5 GT/s (which is PCI-E 1.0) when looking at the System Information Report in OS 10.9.2. Can someone tell me why I can't get a PCI-E 2.0 link speed of 5 GT/s as advertised on eBay when I bought the Titan video card from MacVideoCards? And please, this is NOT a bashing thread to anyone. I just want to know why I can not get PCI-E 2.0 speeds.

    Thanks,
    Frank
     
  2. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    I would have said ask MacVidCards about it, because he is usually really good about answering these types of questions, but he is in time-out.
     
  3. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4
    I am using a MVC flashed GTX 780 that also shows a link speed of 2.5 GT/s. When I contacted MVC about this, he explained to me that it was cosmetic issue and that the card actually was running at a link speed of 5.0 GT/s. He told me to try some tests, which I did, that proved his point.

    For the life of me, I don't remember what they were:confused:

    But, from looking at the performance data in CudaZ and other benchmarks, IMHO, MVC cards was being honest with me.

    Lou
     
  4. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    Lou,

    Now that 10.9 is out, do you have OpenCL on this card?
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #6
    Don't know yet:confused: I'm away on a family emergency and I'm staying in touch with my MacBook Air.

    But. I did when I left. 10.9.1 and Web Driver Beta 07, just no Cuda at that time. Hope things will be different when I get back home.

    BTW, my card is the GK110A version.

    Lou
     
  6. TheHerdForever thread starter macrumors member

    TheHerdForever

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #7
    Yes, Lou. MVC told me the same thing, but why isn't it showing in System Information??? And why does it have to be cosmetic? If I did runs tests that proved it is 5 GT/s, I would still feel the same way. Can someone else comment on this?

    Frank

    ----------

    Interesting...I'm running the latest web driver and Cuda versions under OS 10.9.2 and have no problems at all. I as well have the GK110A version for Titan.

    Frank
     
  7. TheHerdForever thread starter macrumors member

    TheHerdForever

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #9

Share This Page