Completely uninstalling iLife apps (from the App Store)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by vladobizik, Apr 16, 2013.

1. vladobizik macrumors 6502

I would like to uninstall all three iLife apps I downloaded from the Mac App Store, and I would like to do it completely, without leaving leftovers. It's a common misconception that Mac apps are completely self-contained, even the ones from the App Store aren't, especially the ones from Apple. I normally delete all files throughout the system that refer to the app and developer (using Spotlight and a handy search app called EasyFind), but I wouldn't like to break the system doing this, as iLife may be somewhat more closely tied with the system (and I did break my system a bit while trying to completely eradicate iWork a while back).
    For example, GarageBand stores instruments, samples, lessons somewhere and I would like to get rid of those, but I'm also a Logic Pro user and I don't want to break that!
    Does anybody have a list of files and folders that I should delete if I want to completey get rid of these three apps while not damaging the system? Or should I just reinstall OS X completely? :-D

If anybody's interested why the hell would I want to do this, it's a little OCD I have, I don't want to have apps that I don't use installed on my computer, it drives me crazy, and I use Logic Pro, Adobe Revel and Premiere Elements instead of GarageBand, iPhoto and iMovie respectively.

2. ipsychedelic macrumors 6502a

ipsychedelic

I usually just do like you say, for instance, when I deleted iPhoto last week.
    Usually, you delete the preferences plists and things inside ~/Library.

But anyway, not to sound too obvious, your best bet is to google each, then collect all paths that appear in each article/forum post you see (where people express their success of course!!), and that way you can safely delete all of those.