Complications with windows 7?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by RareEarthMetal, May 24, 2009.

?

Install windows 7 without backing up?

  1. Go for it :D

    7 vote(s)
    53.8%
  2. don't do it, idiot.

    6 vote(s)
    46.2%
  1. RareEarthMetal macrumors member

    RareEarthMetal

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    #1
    I have the basic macbook and I want to know what are the possible problems I could face through installing windows 7 via sun's virtual box.

    I was advised to back up stuff. Im not sure what and if its necessary or not because im running it virtually.

    can it effect mac os x?

    if so how?
     
  2. mathcolo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #2
    If you're doing it through VirtualBox, you have no need to back up. Nothing can go wrong.
     
  3. Andrmgic macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #3
    As long as you don't tell virtual box to use your physical hard drive instead of creating a virtual one, you'll be just fine.
     
  4. elgrecomac macrumors 65816

    elgrecomac

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #4
    Well...

    I installed both the 32 and 64 bit versions of Win 7 under Fusion with no backup....come to think of it, why should I worry. Its just an app running inside another app. Then Time Machine backs up my VM instances. No problemo.
     
  5. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #5
    As other's have said, you're running it in a virtual box. The only thing that could go wrong is the Windows 7 installation itself. You have nothing to worry about (on the Mac side anyway).
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    I hope you have a backup regardless of installing Windows 7.
     

Share This Page