Compositing on the ipad2

Discussion in 'iPad' started by alsec, Sep 7, 2011.

1. alsec macrumors newbie

My day job is a compositor working with such programs as, Nuke, After Effects, Final Cut, Maya, and yes very rarely but sometimes shake...very rarely. I freelance and work from home most of the time, have a nice desktop setup at home. I'm traveling a lot more as of late, making it increasingly harder to get some work done. I've been lucky thus far to be loned a laptop to get work done, however I wont always be lucky. Now I understand this question is a shot in the dark, but I was wondering if anyone has experimented with compositing on the ipad. I've tried the remote desktop app "jumpdesktop", and as it is a great app to access my comp from home, it's not intuitive enough and tends to be extremely slow, and yes I know the ideal situation would be to get a laptop, but I need to generate more money first. If anything I hope this thread generates a discussion of ideas, thank you.

Tl;dr - Has anyone experimented with compositing on the ipad?

2. poloponies macrumors 68030

If you're relying on this for your livelihood then sell the iPad and get a notebook, regardless of the cost. Even if such a thing were possible I can't imagine trying to composite solely on an iPad. Do the sensible thing.

3. sphoenix macrumors regular

sphoenix

I'm in the VFX area too. Compositing on Nuke is complicated enough in terms of using multiple tools and constantly changing inputs to get your result, but doing that on a touch-screen is just gonna be painful - and much slower.

Even if The Foundry did come out with an app, I can't imagine doing roto, tracking, projections fluently on an iPad. Devs probably know it won't have a market on the iOS platform too, so no use in putting the effort in.

4. alsec thread starter macrumors newbie