Compress 75gb .mov files.

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by qzxyu, Oct 6, 2011.

1. qzxyu macrumors member

How do I get my huggge 75gb+ .mov files smaller? Much smaller. Ive been copying my HS and College football VHS to my computer and the files they are creating are way too big to burn to a DVD. I have a new 2.7 iMac.

Cheers

2. simsaladimbamba

HandBrake.
    The application you use to capture those VHS cassettes obviously uses the Apple Intermediate Codec (AIC) to encode the video, which results in big files, that are editable.
    HandBrake will let you make smaller files that can be at least burnt to DVD for storage, but if you want to create video DVDs, look at iDVD, but know, that 4.7GB DVD media can only store 90 minutes of fairly good visual quality video.

3. qzxyu thread starter macrumors member

Thanks again. I can compress them in iMovie as well as handbrake? Sorry Im a total newb.

4. simsaladimbamba

Yes, iMovie should offer you some options under the SHARE menu bar item. Maybe have a look at some of the iMovie tutorials widely available about exporting from iMovie to whatever format you want.

5. nateo200 macrumors 68030

nateo200

Compress FIRST. Usually I would say take the raw footage and combine it but 75GB's of .Mov in iMovie with anything less than a 12 core Mac pro with 64gigs of ram is surely going to quite literally violate your computer 6x over tell it freezes. I seriously hope you have 16gigs of ram on that iMac or its going to be no fun exporting let alone editing that!:eek:

6. simsaladimbamba, Oct 6, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2011

simsaladimbamba

What?
    I don't use iMovie, but I have edited 75GB of SD video in FCP and Avid Media Composer on my iBook without hiccups, except when I wanted to apply effects or such things.
    Last year I edited 250GB of SD video on my 2009 MBP.