Computer Name constantly changes when disconnected from network

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Mustangjac, Sep 7, 2014.

  1. Mustangjac macrumors member

    Mustangjac

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    Hey folks.

    I've got an issue where whenever my Macbook Pro is disconnected from the network/wifi that it will continuously change my computer name stating that it already exists on the network. I first noticed the issue when waking the Macbook from sleep, it would pop up telling me that my computer name already existed on the network and it appended a number to the end. Everything worked fine afterwards so I ignored it. Eventually, the number at the end would reach the thousands.....not exaggerating. I googled it, and found others having a similar issue....but not exactly it. As I fiddled with it, I found that I could recreate it simply by disabling my wifi. I do not have it connected by ethernet, just wifi. So, with no network connection available, it would rapidly change my local computer name over and over and over again until I reconnected the wifi, and all was well again.

    So digging more into it, I disabled Bonjour by unloading com.apple.mDNSResponder.plist And it stopped happening. Of course, I need Bonjour to properly use the sharing features of my network, so I re-enabled it. Problem immediately returned. Lastly, I just disabled the Helper, com.apple.mDNSResponderhelper.plist, which seems to have resolved the issue and I can't see that it's hindered my sharing services.....but I'm concerned that it may be somehow. It started originally when on Mavericks, but I'm currently running with Yosemite DP and it's still around. I tried copying that file from another machine, but it didn't make any difference when I reloaded it.

    I even went so far as to restore my Macbook and reinstalled everything fresh before restoring from Time Machine. Before I put all my stuff back on it, it seemed to be working just fine. After the restore, it picked up the issue just as it was before. I know the easy answer is to restore again and just copy what I need from time machine, but I'd really like to see if someone would happen to know what the issue is specifically that's causing this odd behavior.

    Any Ideas?

    -Jac

    PS....I posted this, word for word, on Apple's discussion forums and it was removed because it "Contains information available only to registered developers." Really?? :confused::rolleyes:
     
  2. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #2
    When you say unload and re-enable, what exactly do you mean by that? If you think you have a plist file linked to the problem, have you tried deleting the plist file? It's possible it's corrupted.

    As to Apple, the forums probably removed it not for your issue but because you said you were using the Yosemite DP.
     
  3. Mustangjac thread starter macrumors member

    Mustangjac

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    Yeah, by running this in terminal:

    sudo launchctl unload -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.mDNSResponderhelper.plist


    I gathered it was because I mentioned YDP.....just silly saying it was because it contained confidential information....like YDP is a mystery. :rolleyes:
     
  4. shareef777 macrumors 68000

    shareef777

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    Running into the same issue. No matter what I do, it continually renames my computer name. Did you get this remediated?
     
  5. aDRock1154 macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    Just wanted to chime in saying that it's happening to me as well. It got to (5) before I caught it, but I have no fix. Anyone find anything?
     
  6. TofSanity macrumors 6502a

    TofSanity

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    #6
    same issue here. It seems to have started with the latest Yosemite update, well at least it appears that way to me since I am only at (2).
     
  7. aDRock1154 macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #7
    That's when I noticed it, as well. I've just been going into the settings and re-naming my computer until it works itself out.
     
  8. Mustangjac thread starter macrumors member

    Mustangjac

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    Hey Guys, OP here. I mentioned in the first post, what I did as a work around for me....and it hasn't removed any functionality at all for me. At least, nothing I've noticed. Bonjour still functions just fine, from what I can tell. I have several devices on the network, and it sees them all, and they all see it.

    In terminal, just run: sudo launchctl unload -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.mDNSResponderhelper.plist

    I posted here hoping someone would chime in with an explanation of what the actual issue was, but since I've run the above, I've had no issues at all, so I've kinda stopped trying to figure it out. It may be as simple as deleting the plist altogether. Bonjour might just recreate it and all will be well. I haven't tried. :eek:

    Hope it's an acceptable workaround for you guys as well. I'll keep checking this thread to see what folks come up with.:D
     
  9. TitouDoc macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
  10. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
  11. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #11
    happening for a lot of us... i kept changing it in the sharing pref pane, but, at least, everything is working here (ie crashplan)...
     
  12. befrank4444 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    #12
    Same here.

    I just read somewhere that if you turn off the ethernet connection, that solves the problem... We'll see.
     
  13. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #13
    no ethernet connection, so...not a fix (or at least, not a UNIVERSAL fix..)
     
  14. x34 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #14
    this is not to be found on my mac, still i have the same issue. any possible fix for this guys?
     

Share This Page