computer 'reset' itself, no files missing, can't open anything - it's an emergency

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by IniquityBliss, Jul 31, 2008.

1. IniquityBliss macrumors newbie

I have a MacBook 13" 2.0 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 10.4.11
    I am a medical student and I have 9 MAJOR exams beginning within the next 7 days.

I force quit parallels (I have since learned not to do this). After the force quit parallels wouldn't open anymore and told me that it was in use by another application. I found a parallels support page and went to Terminals and typed the path to the winxp.hdd file (which i did correctly) and then I typed chmod 666 and it didn't work. so i just typed in chmod 666* (i didn't put in the path again). this did not fix the problem with parallels. however, i found this support page from parallels - telling me to delete the .lck file - and it did work (http://kb.parallels.com/en/4938). parallels was running again but i was running into other problems with other applications telling me i didn't have permission to open them. i went into disk utility and did 'repair disk permissions'. i thought that solved the problem (it didn't).

Because i thought the problem was solved and everything was just fine i downloaded a driver for our campus printer - which came from the manufacturer's website found here (http://www.ricoh-support.com/enduse....com/bb/html/dr_ut_e/re/model/mp90/mp90en.htm). The PDD Installer for version 10.4 didn't seem to do anything so i downloaded the one for 10.5.
    I then noticed that firefox wasn't working very well and eventually wouldn't open at all (it just bounced in the dock). I also noticed that every other program was doing the same thing.