COnfiguration for Final Cut pro7

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by lordkelt, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. lordkelt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #1
    I decided to buy MC PRo with final cut pro 7.
    My configuration:
    * One 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon “Nehalem”
    * 16GB (4x4GB)
    * ATI Radeon HD 5870 1GB

    Id like to ask, is this CPU good, or should i go with 3.2GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon “Nehalem” ?
    And what about ATI Radeon... Id like 5870, but thinking about 5770. Is 5770 enough?
    SOry for english.
    Thx
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    What kind of footage do you want to edit?
    Btw, there is a new Final Cut Studio on its way and may be released in the Q2/2011.
     
  3. lordkelt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #3
    I m not sure yet

    I m not sure yet, but try to speak about 1080i.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Then the MP you chose is okay. You could even do this with any current iMac (due to a refresh the next month or so), unless you make money with editing video.
     
  5. lordkelt, Mar 29, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2011

    lordkelt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #5
    Thx

    I chose Imac for the first, but there is no way to upgrade and connect for example Matrox converter etc (no PCIe slot on imac)
    Thx for answering. My problem is budget. Som my question is about graphic card too.
    5770 or 5870? Its not big difference, but... :)

    And about new FCP... do u know something more about new version?
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    The current FCP version does not take that much advantage of the GPU, thus even the "lower" card will suffice.
    Or do you want to use Motion extensively?

    Maybe use MRoogle to find the threads about Final Cut Studio 3, as there are some.
    It is rumoured to be an extensive update, but one not really knows.
     
  7. lordkelt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #7
    My poor english

    SOry my english is poor...
    What do u mean "use Motion extensively"
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    Motion is part of the Final Cut Studio, as is Color. Both applications rely on the GPU, but if you don't know Motion, then I assume, you definitely don't need any higher GPU.
     
  9. lordkelt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #9
    Oh

    u thought part of FCP. OK. So if i want to use it extensively, shoul i buy 3,2 GHz Nehalem?
     
  10. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #10
    If you mean extensively with importing more than two hours of footage every day, then the 2.8GHz model will more than suffice your needs.

    I presume you don't make your money with editing and just have it as a hobby?
    If so, then the basic MP will be enough, especially with a tight budget.

    Also take a look at the refurbished section of the Apple Online Store to find better deals.

     
  11. gameface macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #11
    I just used open sync to cut a music video with 16 streams of Pro Res proxy from RED files with the 2.8 Quad and 16GB of RAM and the 5770. FCP doesn't utilize MP and there is no need with straight cutting. That machine will work fine and don't let anyone tell you any differently.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. lordkelt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011

Share This Page