Configurations

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Phoenixy, Mar 6, 2011.

1. Phoenixy macrumors newbie

Hi guys

I'm getting a 15 inch MacBook pro and would like to find out which one of the following specific BTO options are worth it

Well first of all I heard the ram option is overcharged by apple and I should probably buy it somewhere else and install it myself, but I don't know any of this opening laptops stuff and all that. Is the 4th really worth it and is the installation absolutely simple?

Another option was the hi res screen, I heard it may have some issues with text so for that price I probably should stick to the default glossy one.

A major thought has been ssd though, I heard it speeds up a lot with it but I'm no expert on this stuff, buy heard about sata 3 and was wondering about buying a sata 3 ssd outside and installing it only if its simple enough. I was considering getting the 128 gb ssd as I don't do much major media stuff on the laptops, mostly surfing, writing reports and a bit of gaming (2-3 games?) so maybe although I heard apple ssd are really low grade compared to outside ones. Otherwise, if I'm just getting a hdd from apple would the 500 gb 7200 rps or 750 gb 5200 rps be better, especially since I dont do a lot of video editing and all that stuff.

Thanks!

2. un.titled macrumors regular

I would hold off on the Apple SSD and invest in a Sata-III (if you honestly need an SSD).

I personally recommend the hi-res screen. Unless you're like a couple of the forum members here who suffer from Glaucoma, everything is a lot sharper and crisper.

Third party ram is the way to go.

3. Phoenixy thread starter macrumors newbie

Just wondering, how useful is an ssd really anyway?
    And should I get the glossy or matte hi res screen?
    I think I'll opt for the 500gb 7200 rps then since 500gb seems like enough space.

4. Pballer110 macrumors 6502