Configuring my iMac to edit with 4K

Discussion in 'iMac' started by rainydayinspire, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. rainydayinspire macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    #1
    So I am buying an Imac to use for video editing, currently I am only working with 1080 and 1440 but I have plans to start editing with 4k in the future. I am planning on getting the 27" 3.5 i7 processor with 32 gb ram and a 4gb graphics card. But I'm not sure what hardrive to get, I was considering getting the 1TB fusion and a 4 TB Lacie, but would that be fast enough? Thanks
     
  2. kathyricks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
  3. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #3
    Go for absolute speed if you can afford it. I went for a 512GB SSD in my iMac and never regretted it (I shoot 4K with a EOS-1Dc).

    By the way, it's cheaper to configure it with 8GB of RAM and then buy 4x8GB sticks elsewhere. Apple charges daft prices for RAM upgrades.
     
  4. rainydayinspire thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    #4
    Thanks, just wondering, I couldn't just use a fast external hardrive instead of the Flash? or does it not work that way?
     
  5. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #5
    It will work, but you won't get full speeds. An external SSD is still way slower than an internal native SSD.

    A 512GB internal PCIe SSD performs at 750MB/s read and 720MB/s write.

    An external SSD will perform below 450MB/s in both reads and writes, even over Thunderbolt.
     
  6. rainydayinspire thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    #6
    So I was going to go with that option then what external hardrive would you reccomend?
     
  7. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #7
    If you do go for an internal SSD, I'd suggest perhaps a Buffalo HD-PATU3 (works over Thunderbolt). However, don't even try to use it as a scratch space. It's too slow. Move whatever projects you're working on to the internal SSD and only move it back to the external HDD once you're done with it.

    If you can afford it, buy a Pegasus R6 and configure all drives as RAID 10, and use it as a scratch space + storage. With 6 drives in RAID0/10, it can read/write at over 700MB/s.
     
  8. rainydayinspire thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    #8
    Backtracking here, I can't afford the 512 gb flash right now, by I need this computer quickly for a deadline(my old hp died suddenly). Would I bet better, off getting the 256 flash or 1TB or 3 Tb Fusion?
     
  9. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #9
    At this rate, you'd be better off with the 256GB. I have a 256GB in my 21.5" and a 512GB in my 27", and the 256GB only performs around 20-30MB/s slower.

    Fusion performs at 550MB/s read and around 350MB/s write, while my 256GB does 720MB/s and 660MB/s respectively.
     
  10. RCAFBrat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #10
    How about with you go with just 16GB RAM?

    That 512 GB SSD sounds pretty sweet and the remaining 16 GB RAM can be added later (16 GB option ships with 2 x 8 GB sticks and 2 x empty slots).

    Food for thought?
     
  11. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #11
    I agree, or why don't the OP just stock with 8GB RAM and upgrade to 4x8GB later on? It's cheaper that way.

    Quoting someone directly from another thread:
    When you order 2x8 GB for $200, Apple swaps out the default 2x4 GB with the 2x8 GB chips. Also, note that adding more, to get 4x8 GB is $600, which means that Apple is actually charging $400 for that 2x8 GB.
    So, yes, Apple continues to inexplicably "stick" you for RAM. You can do much better elsewhere. (ex. Crucial wants ~$160 for 2x8 GB, so ~$320 for 4x8 GB.)
     
  12. rainydayinspire thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    #12
    Well that's the problem I was already planning on getting the extra ram later. If I was buying the extra ram now I would even be able to afford the Flash drive. I may just get a payment plan so I can go ahead and get the 512 drive. One last question, I already have new 3TB Seagate Back up plus http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Backup-Desktop-External-STCA3000101/dp/B00829THQE for now would that be a good enough hardrive to use for 1080 - 2k clips, I do a lot of editing with 1080 at 60fps and up. And what would be the best bang for a buck hardrive to upgrade to? Thanks
     
  13. 4kuser91 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    #13
    Will My iMac handle 4K Blackmagic Footage

    Hey guys!

    So I'm looking to get a new iMac and wondering if it will handle 4K blackmagic footage. Here are the specs...

    27''
    3.4GHz i7
    16GB of memory
    3TB Fusion Drive
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 780M 4GB GDDR5

    Dont really wanna spend an arm and a leg on the mac pro so i wonder if this will get me by... I'll be using final cut x to edit and Davinci resolve to color correct.
    Thanks!
     
  14. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #14
    I already replied in the other thread you created.
     
  15. slayerizer, May 21, 2014
    Last edited: May 22, 2014

    slayerizer macrumors 6502a

    slayerizer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #15
  16. twingo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
  17. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #17
    No the guy was asking about 4K video editing on an iMac, not an iMac having a 4K display.
     

Share This Page