Configuring White MB

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by msb65, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. msb65 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #1
    Hi Everyone,

    I am considering buying a new white MB. Before I buy I have a few questions:

    - The maximum advertised memory it holds is 4 GB. However, can it actually hold more? Will it utilize anything over 4 GB?

    - I will probably want to upgrade the harddrive. Where can I find out which type of harddrive is compatible with this computer?

    Thanks!

    Mike
     
  2. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #2
    It should unofficially support upto 6GB RAM

    For HDD, anything 2.5" SATA, no more than 9.5mm thick
     
  3. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #3
    I think 4GB is all the whiteboy can handle.

    As far as hard drives go, you want a SATA 2.5
     
  4. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #4
    My mistake... I thought the white one was 4 max.
     
  5. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #5
    The nVidia based white one should go upto 6 as well, maybe not though
     
  6. msb65 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #6
    Hey guys,

    I appreciate the replies!

    Even though I can theoretically jam my computer full of memory, can Leopard utilize it? Or would I be paying for memory that will never be used? Will Snow Leopard assist with this?
     
  7. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #7
    Snow Leopard is supposed to require less memory actually.
    I guess the question is, What are you going to be doing on the computer? 4GB always comes in handy for photo editing and video editing
     
  8. msb65 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #8
    I will be doing some home audio recording and processing satellite images with some unix shell scripts.

    The latter I was able to do with my now defunct 1.33 Ghz Powerbook G4, so I believe I should see an improvement with that even with the white MB. I'm not sure if memory or processor speed will help me the most with this.

    Of course I'd love to have an aluminum MB but they lack the Firewire necessary for my audio recording, and a MBP is too expensive.
     
  9. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #9
    I'd say go for the 4GB. Better to have to much than not enough...
     
  10. msb65 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #10
    Yeah I'm just wondering if I should get Apple's 4 GB configuration, which is cheaper now, especially with a student discount. OR should I max that baby out with 6 GB of 3rd party RAM. I'd only do that if I knew the computer would use it all.
     
  11. shvartsies macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #11
    warning: do not, i repeat, do not buy ram from apple!!!!!
    they overprice like hell!

    buy the stock 2gb and then upgrade it with ram bought from a website or microcenter or something of the sort
     
  12. shady825 macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #12
    Agreed.

    OP, check out crucial.com
    Do the system scan if your unfamiliar on what to look for.
     
  13. doubleohseven macrumors 6502a

    doubleohseven

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #13
    That's true. There are places that sell RAM for at least half the price of Apple's RAM. I say get a 4GB RAM kit (x2 2GB) from a 3rd party brand (I recommend Kingston).
     
  14. superspud macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #14
    replacing both the hd and the ram is a snap...

    i upgraded my white macbook to 4gigs the other day, literally took me 5 minutes... i'll be doing my hd as soon as i feel like messing with the migration process... just sounds like a hassle...

    I got the Gskill 2x2gb ram from newegg... there are HUNDREDS of reviews for it on newegg, works perfectly for me and many others and cost me $56 to have it shipped to my doorstep, i think you'll have a hard time beating that
     

Share This Page