CONFIRMED: 2.1 Jailbroken iPhone 3G

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by bbplayer5, Sep 12, 2008.

  1. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #1
    http://www.freeappleipodtouch.com/2...howComment=1221238920000#c5688154489831606332


    Followed those steps, and it worked perfectly.

    Ill be testing it with installing apps etc in the next couple hours... Cydia loads fine.

    I also used the bittorrent hacked file (mobileinstallation) and im going to test which apps still sync.

    DO IT AT YOUR OWN RISK...

    -Installed Poof - worked great

    -Intelliscreen does NOT work right, do not use it.

    -Pysl or whatever its called - to filter the SMS popups works!

    -Apps sync perfectly! Including hacked apps ;)

    -Winterboard appears to be working, wallpaper shows on springboard

    -Categories seems a little buggy.. it groups icons, but they dont launch... Rebooting to see if it fixes it.

    -Going to sync my app store apps now, see if they all work etc... stay tuned.

    There are some SYNC problems, I am going to try to find a work around.. stay tuned

    Programs will no longer sync from iTunes, it just reboots the phone. Trying to narrow down what is causing it, but it looks like it might be the pwning process.
     
  2. stlblufan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #2
    Hmmm....this link suggests that it doesn't work for the iPhone.

    Also, the "confirming" anonymous poster says he didn't SSH. But without SSH, how did he install Cydia once the 2.1 firmware was installed?
     
  3. bbplayer5 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #3
    My phone says 2.1 firmware, and its working perfectly. Take it from an anonymous poster on that board, or from me who actually DID it.
     
  4. bbplayer5 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #4
    Going to test intelliscreen next... waiting for my phone to reboot. Everything else is working great..
     
  5. stlblufan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #5
    So did you use SSH? How did you install Cydia?
     
  6. bbplayer5 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #6
    You use commander in windows, its in that link I provided. You dont use SSH, quickpwn actually installs cydia, and copying back your original mobieinstallation file allows it to load on the spring board.
     
  7. bbplayer5 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #7
    Going to try syncing paid apps, and hacked apps next. I copied back the torrent version of the mobileinstallation file back to my phone.
     
  8. mdecker79 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #8
    I'll be doing this right after my 60min backup :)... lol..


    Thanks for the confirm!
     
  9. iruleee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #9
    turbo sim

    hey are u using turbo sim ????? i m facing a problem in 2.1 which gives the no sim error with the turbo sim
     
  10. bbplayer5 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #10
    Categories seems to have issues also... the programs dont launch for me.

    I have AT&T
     
  11. spyz88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #11
    I dont know if its just me but how are you suppose to SSH into your iPhone if you have NO SSH client installed?

    I'm very good at command line stuff but do not understand these directions. Can someone please clarify???
     
  12. bbplayer5 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #12

    You arent SSHing into your phone! Read the directions!
     
  13. stlblufan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #13
    Can you use commander or diskaid to copy your mobileinstall file before upgrade so you don't have to use a torrent file? I'm not familiar with either of these programs...
     
  14. TtOrMaMnY macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
  15. mdecker79 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #15
    Didn't work for me using that ver of quickpwn. I couldn't select the 2.1 firmware so I tried 2.0.2 and 2.0.1 both left my iPhone not booting. Running 2.1 stock and doing a restore now.

    Not a big deal really because the real one will be out hopefully in a week.
     
  16. bbplayer5 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #16
    you wont be able to sync programs, at least I couldnt...

    Might want to hold off!
     

Share This Page