Confused about a server purchase

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by soamz, Sep 2, 2015.

  1. soamz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #1
    Hi, we are an ISP in my town and we need like 4 servers currently for 4 different tasks.

    1st Server - I currently use a VPS for 50$ a month from wiredtree.com since 3 years. Im thinking to get a server and host it in house, so, all the websites will be hosted from that server itself.

    2nd Server - Log Server for ISP Customers, SpeedTest Host Server

    3rd Server - Plex Movie Database

    4th Server - Torrent Caching Server



    For 1st and 2nd , I finalized this,
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dell-PowerE...6GB-RAM-2-5-/171888546707?hash=item28055b1393

    For 3rd and 4th, I finalized this,
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-ProLiant...0-24GB-RAM-No-2-5-HD-P410i-512MB/181844945656


    Im only confused about how to install SATA Internal HDD to those servers.
    So, can someone help me about it ?
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    There is drive cages in the front. You pull the lever and take it out insert a drive and pop it back in
     
  3. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #3
    You sure, it takes 3.5 SATA drives ?
     
  4. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #5
    No the first takes 4x 2.5" sata and the second takes 8x 2.5" sata
     
  5. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #6
    Cant we install a 3.5 to 2.5 convertor adapter and connect our drives ?
     
  6. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
  7. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #8
    Yes!
    I mean isn't there a way, we can get adapters and install the internal 4TB SATA to the adapter and connect it to the connectors of the 2.5 hole and job done ?
    I understand the drives have to stay outside the server.
     
  8. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #9
    There is no way of installing an internal drive in either of the servers. There packaged very tightly inside
     
  9. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #10

Share This Page