Confused about Quicktime 10 and Quicktime Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Felasco, Oct 23, 2012.

  1. Felasco Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    #1
    Hi all,

    I'm upgrading to OSX 10.6.8 from 10.4.11. I'm confused about Quicktime 10.

    I don't see anywhere in Quicktime 10 to add my Qucktime Pro Key (described here: http://www.apple.com/quicktime/extending/index.html)

    If I can't use Quicktime Pro anymore for some reason, that's a deal breaker for me, so I thought I should investigate before continuing the upgrade process.

    What am I missing here? Where did Quicktime Pro go? Does Quicktime 10 support it?

    Thanks!
     
  2. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Quicktime 10 (X) does not have a pro option

    After the upgrade the older Quicktime should be in your utilities folder (unsure if you need to re enter the pro key for it)
     
  3. Felasco thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    #3
    Hi Paul,

    Thanks much for your reply.

    How puzzling. They're downgrading the QT experience?? Can you help me understand the reasoning here? Has some other app replaced the functions provided by QT Pro? What am I not getting here?

    Ah, so I can just run the older version of QT on OSX 10.6.8? I'll give that a try, thanks!
     
  4. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    not sure of the reasoning, but would have thought the added features would have been put into versions 10 by now (it seemed more of just a player/share your movies type app)

    TBH though, I haven't looked at version 10 since it came out so unsure of any improvements, I removed it from my dock and replaced it with the older version

    I might be odd, but I like the look also of the previous version
     
  5. Felasco thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    #5
    Same here. I was all excited about the big upgrade, and thought QT might have fun new features, but instead it's considerably worse than what I already have. Strange... There must be a reason, but the logic escapes me so far.

    Anyway, I just tried to run QT 7.6.4 on OSX 10.6.8 and it won't work. Tries to launch, but then immediately dies. Incompatible I guess.

    How are you doing it?

    Hmm.... I have OSX 10.5, so I guess the next step is to try that.

    Perhaps a next question might be, is there any compelling reason to use OSX 10.6 over 10.5? What am I missing if I abandon 10.6?

    Thanks again.
     
  6. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    try this one from here

    http://support.apple.com/kb/DL923

    this is the version i have, 7.6.6, from memory it has to be a specific version, any others do not run, looks like the issue you have where it just quites

    I have used this in 10.6 & currently in 10.7 and it works fine

    unsure on the comparison between 10.5 and 10.6, I seem to remember 10.6 added some nice features (10.5 was that Tiger?)
     
  7. Felasco thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    #7
    Hey Paul, thanks a lot man. You are now officially my Hero Of The Day. :)

    That QT version wasn't installed on my machine for some reason (a used laptop I just bought from a vendor) but I was able to download it from here:

    http://support.apple.com/downloads/#quicktime

    QuickTime Player 7 for Mac OS X v10.6.3 or later

    Now that I have the old out of date version from long ago up and running, I'm happy again. :)

    You saved me a bunch of wonderment and OS hassle, much appreciated.
     
  8. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  9. Felasco thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
  10. towg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Cardiff
    #10
    I think they stopped implementing pro features in 10 because there wasnt enough call for it. They probably didnt get many people paying for it because they went to Final Cut Pro/iMovie etc for advanced video editing.
     
  11. Felasco thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    #11
    This seems like a good explanation, thanks. iMovie is $15 now, is that right?
     
  12. Arthur Kegerreis macrumors newbie

    Arthur Kegerreis

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    #12
    I see this discussion is 4 years old now, but will reply anyway as this just came up with a friend experiencing related problems.

    I'm still able to run the old version of Quicktime Pro I had upgraded to in 10.5.8 or earlier. It was imported into 10.6.8 when I upgraded the OS on that machine. I see that the player was updated to Quicktime Player Version 7.7.6 - and still running using the old registration code. Interestingly, the "Registration" or "Update Existing Software" menu items under Quicktime Player Pro no longer function properly however. I'm still able to make simple video edits within it. So you may be able to just update your 7.4 player to work in 10.6.8.

    This was also imported into my Air running Yosemite and still works there too. Both Yosemite and 10.6.8 added a second Quicktime player - Version 10 in OS X10.6.8 and version 10.4 in Yosemite. Version 10 doesn't offer any registration for a pro version, nor does it allow you to edit clips that are opened in it like Quicktime Pro does.

    iMove offers more advanced editing features but it's still a lot more cumbersome than the simple video edits you can do in Quicktime Pro. Infuriating that they discontinued it, but typical of a lot of Apple's software and interface decisions in the last few years. The moral of the story is never update your Apple OS or things will break and functionality will be lost. Then they'll tell you to buy a new machine.
     

Share This Page