Confused about Skylake in 27" iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by c073186, Oct 17, 2015.

  1. c073186 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #1
    I've been paying attention to the Mac Rumors buyer's guide and it previously made it sound like Skylake processors would not be available until the end of this year or early next. Was this referring to the same Skylake processors as the new 27" iMac just released has? Were the processors released ahead of schedule or will the 27" models likely see another update whenever the next iMac refresh occurs?
     
  2. JPGR_Fan macrumors regular

    JPGR_Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    Location:
    St. Louis/Jupiter
    #2
    No expert on this, but my understanding is that Intel is on a slow roll out of the Skylake processor family. The high end was available for the 27 inch, but the lower end was not for the 21 inch iMac. Likewise, MacBook Pro and other models in the MacBook stable are awaiting appropriate Skylake processors from Intel.



     
  3. PFKMan23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    #3
    There might be a refresh. With this relaase, the 5K iMacs didn't get TB3, USB-C or USB 3.1, amongst other things, so another refresh (along with updating the 4 iMacs) seems probable, but the question is when.
     
  4. AlifTheUnseen macrumors member

    AlifTheUnseen

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    #4
  5. acrakes macrumors newbie

    acrakes

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    #5
    Yup, 27" has Skylake, 21.5" has the step down (Broadwell?)
    Unfortunately the chipset they used only supports DDR3, and USB 3.1 and Thunderbolt 3 require the Alpine Ridge controller, which was left out..
     
  6. nkarafo macrumors member

    nkarafo

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    #6
    I own 27" iMac 5k retina (oct 2015) and I installed Onyx. In the Hardware, it says Processor Name: Intel Core i5 (Intel x86-64h Haswell) !!! ???
    Why it doesn't mention skylake ??
    I am confused. Unless Onyx is not updated correctly (I have the latest version 3.1.3 by the way).
     
  7. torquer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    #7
    The software likely has not been updated to reflect the new CPUID.

    Also for clarification for all in this thread, the 21.5" iMac does not have Skylake because there is no quad core Skylake non-mobile CPU with Iris Pro Graphics available from Intel and never will be (Intel's decision). As such, the socketed CPUs in the 21.5" iMacs have to go with the only 2 broadwell CPUs with Iris Pro graphics (the i5-5765C or i7-5775c). Since the 27" iMacs all have dedicated GPUs, they can go with the standard Skylake socketed parts which have the lower end integrated graphics since its not being used.

    Similarly, the MacBook Pro 15" was not upgraded to newer CPUs because at the time a quad core mobile part based on broadwell or skylake was not available. The 13" rMBP was updated because a dual core version was available. The MBAs were similarly updated.

    Expect sometime in 2016 that the 15" rMBP will be updated with Skylake based quad core chips with Iris Pro or dedicated GPUs. I expect no such CPU refresh on either the 27" or 21.5" retina iMacs until Cannonlake in late 2016/early 2017.
     
  8. nkarafo macrumors member

    nkarafo

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    #8
    I see. Thank you for your post.
     

Share This Page