Confused - Mac pro 2014 running two widescreen monitors

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Metiervisual, Feb 8, 2017.

  1. Metiervisual macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    #1
    Now , I've had macs all my life but I'm not a true techie . He's my problem

    i have a mac pro 2014 model and i want to run two widescreen monies (LG) and a 4K panasonic Tv connected to the Mac running premiere pro.

    all sorts of problems so finally got the two screens running and a picture out of the HDMI at a dismal 30Htz refresh rate to the Panasonic so its jumpy and rubbish really/

    I bought an HDMI 1.4 to 2.00 converter an put it in the back of the mac via thunderbolt .. nothing.as i thought this would give me 60Htz

    to top all this the Denon surround sound system that receives the HDMI just keeps dropping the picture every 8 seconds or so and as yet I've had no audio out of it .
    Im not expecting an easy answer but surely there is someone out there with an edit suite in the same configuration i want me ... Help and be gentle.
     
  2. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    do the displays support 60htz at 4K?
    have you tried directly plunging in your computer to the displays 1 at a time?
    dose your Denon unit support 4K at 60htz?
    what models are you displays ?
     
  3. Metiervisual thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    #3
    --- Post Merged, Feb 8, 2017 ---
    the displays are fine its the output to the 4k thats the problem . i didnt have a problem with my old sony surround system
    at all in HD. there must be a way of getting 60htz into the panasonic , as i said i bought an adapter as well to bump up to HDMI 2
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    I don't think that you can convert (upgrade) HDMI 1.4 (UHD 30Hz) single to a HDMI 2.0 (UHD 60Hz) signal by a simple convertor.

    The easiest way to achieve that on nMP (by the way, it's the 2013 model, not 2014) should be via a ACTIVE mini display port to HDMI 2.0 convertor.
     
  5. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #5
  6. Metiervisual thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    #6
    thanks for that , most interesting ! Im still slightly confused about the difference in the mini dispaly ports and the thunderbolt port , they are the same , correct
    --- Post Merged, Feb 8, 2017 ---
    This is the one i was trying

    http://plugable.com/products/mdp-hdmi/
     
  7. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #7
    From the plugable product page:

     

Share This Page