Confused on kaby lake...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ls1dreams, Jan 25, 2017.

  1. ls1dreams macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    #1
    So, with the 2016 release of Macbook Pro's, kaby lake wasn't included because it was stated that intel didn't have it ready.

    However, I see plenty of other PC laptops with i5-7xxx chips which should be kaby lake.

    How did Apple end up not getting them in time?
     
  2. Sanpete macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Location:
    Utah
    #2
    There weren't any suitable for a MBP when the new MBPs came out, but there are suitable ones coming out now.
     
  3. havenyoung macrumors regular

    havenyoung

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    #3
    Because Intel released Kaby Lake chips in two separate waves. The ones suitable for MBPs are only available after the second wave.
     
  4. lambertjohn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #4
    Suitable for Macs in what way??
     
  5. bjet767 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    #5
    This shows the official release date as January 2017

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kaby_Lake

    The product pipeline is what limits the manufacturers from putting them in the latest machines. While none of the posters on MR know when Apple began the 2016 MBP manufacturing processes the fact remains they could not distribute the processor prior to January 2017 (according to the above info). The Apple product cycle was demanding the computer be released prior to the Kaby availability date for the public.

    Changes from current processor:

    "
    Kaby Lake features the same CPU core and performance per MHz as Skylake. Features specific to Kaby Lake include:

    • Increased clock speeds across all CPUs models (increased by up to 300 MHz)
    • Faster clock speed changes (improved Speed Shift[18] technology): it takes less time for the CPU to transition from one frequency to another one, e.g. from a low power state to a high performance state - consequently this may bring an increase in performance and responsiveness
    • Improved graphics core: full hardware fixed function VP9/HEVC (including 4K@60fps/10bit) decoding;[19] improved hardware HEVC encoding; full hardware fixed function VP9 8bit encoding; higher GPU clock speeds for select CPUs
    • 200 series chipset (Union Point) on socket 1151 (Kaby Lake is compatible with 100 series chipset motherboards after a BIOS update)
    • Up to 16 PCI Express 3.0 lanes from the CPU, 24 PCI Express 3.0 lanes from PCH
    • Support for Intel Optane Technology (Optane is not supported if a Kaby Lake CPU is being used on a 100 series chipset motherboard)
    "

    There will be no (or minimal) CPU speed performance between the two. Graphics speeds for non-video (13") carded machines should improve.

    Now let's watch the thread blow up with the Apple haters and those who are never satisfied with the latest model. There's always tomorrow.
     
  6. posguy99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    #6
  7. havenyoung macrumors regular

    havenyoung

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
  8. leman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #8
    Apple uses higher-tier CPUs and the corresponding Kaby Lakes were only released earlier this month.
     
  9. ls1dreams thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    #9
    I don't think that's the reason. As seen on the very link you sent me, intel had the i5-7200U available in Q3 (2.5/3.1ghz boost @ 15W TDP).

    The new Q1 models @ 15W TDP only hit 2.6/3.5ghz and (7300U) and 2.3/3.6ghz (7360U).

    Those aren't exactly tons faster to justify Apple holding out. They could easily have gone with the 7200U and then done a minor performance bump later.
     
  10. havenyoung macrumors regular

    havenyoung

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    #10
    They didn't hold out but went with what was available. 7200U only has HD graphics, which is not enough to justify the "Pro" branding. The Skylake CPU in 13" nTB is 6360U with Iris 540 and 7360U with Iris Plus 640 is likely the successor. As for 13 and 15 inch touch bar models, Kaby Lake was just not available last year.
     
  11. Steve121178 macrumors 601

    Steve121178

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #11
    Apple use 28w CPU's in the 13" MBP and 45w CPU's in the 15" model. The Kaby Lake CPU's were not available until this month, which is a few months after launching the new MacBooks.

    The only Kaby Lake mobile CPU's available when the 2016 MacBooks launched were the 15w variants (used in most ultrabooks) and the latest Core-M CPU's which are not suitable for the Pro's.
     
  12. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #12
    They used the chips with iris graphics a massive boost over the standard HD graphics, the 13 inch skylake chips used has a 64mb eDRAM cache that really boosts graphics performance. They used the best chips that were available it's that simple.
     
  13. Dave245 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    #13
    Apple are rumoured to be updating their MacBook range to Kaby Lake in a few months, i'm assuming they have had to wait until the chips are ready. There is also a rumour that Apple will be adding a 32GB of Ram option for the MacBook Pro, that will be interesting as last year they couldn't add more than 16GB in the new MacBook Pro's, there is also another rumour that the 12" MacBook will be getting 16GB Ram and Kaby Lake processors, so it seems that Kaby Lake is enabling Apple to add more Ram.
     

Share This Page