Confused Redsn0w VS PwnageTool

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ocdb, Oct 3, 2009.

  1. ocdb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #1
    I'm a 3GS 3.1 owner not interested in unlocking, I'm ok with ATT. Before the 3.1 update I JBroke my phone with Redsn0w, I can't longer do this because of the update to 3.1.

    Yesterday the DevTeam came out with PwnageTool 3.1.3, I have follow all the instruction and no LUCK, I get 1604 errors all the time, I do make sure about been in recovery mode still no luck. I have follow icalirified instructions creating a custom file with cydia included and I get the same errors, I try DevTeams simple method of creating a custom file and updating from itunes holding Option + cutom file, SAME ERROR.
    Do I have to wait until a Redsn0w released ? or I'm doing something wrong ?

    Thank you all in advanced.
     
  2. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #2
    As I understand it, PwnageTool 3.1.3 does not jailbreak a 3GS that is already updated to 3.1, it only works for 3GS that are still on 3.0 or 3.0.1 and are currently jailbroken.

    So you have to wait until they come out with a tool to jailbreak 3GS that are already on 3.1. That may be a future version of Pwnage Tool, or it may be a new version of RedSn0w, who knows.
     
  3. ocdb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #3
    YEP you are right, I just read this somewhere..

    Thank you for the quick reply.
     
  4. GaryPSU macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #4
    Redsn0w

    Pwnage is for Mac, Redsn0w is for Windows. If you used redsn0w before, you must have a Windows PC. Redsn0w for 3.1 is not available yet.
     
  5. Mystikal macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
  6. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #6
  7. fuzion11 macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #7
    I've heard of people running OS X software on a Windows based PC and using Pwange Tool through that method.

    I have no idea if this is true or even possible, I'm actually hoping someone can shine some light on this for me actually.

    Thanks and hope you all have a great weekend!!
     

Share This Page