Confused - winclone

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by admo, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. admo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #1
    I want to clone my windows partition. Currently it resides on a 32GB partition, formatted as fat32. I want to move to a dedicated 250GB drive, and possibly have it as ntfs. From what I understand, winclone will not allow me to move to this new setup.

    Should I just start from scratch? I don't have a lot of stuff on my xp partition, so perhaps I should just do a fresh install of xp and just reinstall everything?

    Thoughts?

    Plus, the site two canoes (the winclone site) seems to be down.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    I would do a fresh install and start from that
     
  3. moviebrain macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #3
    Yep, start from scratch and make sure the new drive is formatted NTFS. That way your new Winclone backup can be expanded or shrunk to bigger or smaller drive sizes in the future, or put back onto a separate partition on your main drive too.
     
  4. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #4
    No need for a fresh install. You can online convert your FAT32 into an NTFS partition.
     
  5. admo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #5
    Did a fresh install this morning, and all went smoothly. Still need to reinstall some apps, and sp3, but other than that I am good to go. Feels nice to dedicate 250GB to Windows rather than my measly 32. Thanks for all the advise!
     

Share This Page