Confused with Power Mac G4 AGP

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Ih8reno, Aug 24, 2014.

  1. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #1
    Tonight I thought I'd upgrade the screen card in this mac with a more powerful ATI Rage Theater card I got out of a Quicksilver. The card has both vga and dvi connections. When I boot it with the dvi connection the screens shows the apple logo and then turns black until I press the power button on the mac again. Next odd thing is when I click the about this mac it shows it as a Power Mac G3, which this definitely is not. Is this a software problem, so far it seems to work fine except for the having to press the power twice to use my Cinema Display.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Your screen shot shows that you have a PowerMac1,2, which is NOT an AGP model, but is the PCI G4 model, also called the Yikes!

    One difference is that the AGP model has an AGP slot, and the PCI has only PCI slots.
    The PCI has a removable Firewire card, and the AGP has a Firewire port built-in to the logic board
    An external difference: the PCI G4 audio ports on the back are placed horizontally.
    The AGP model audio ports are placed vertically.
     
  3. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    Apple was behind the eight ball when launch day for the G4 PCI rolled around. To get it to customers on time Apple basically modified a G3 system board to accept the G4 processor. The PCI is thus limited by the G3 bus.

    Apple fixed that when they rolled out the AGP.
     
  4. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #4
    I have a Radeon 9200 software CD somewhere, it has drivers so maybe I can copy them for you and it'll all work.
     
  5. repentix macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    #5
    Which kind of connector has the card got? Perhaps you can post a picture of it.
     
  6. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #6
    It has vga and dvi connectors. If you have drivers Gavin I'd really appreciate it. The card works but I have to press the power button to get the dvi connection to come back on after the apple logo boot up.
     

Share This Page