Conidering a switch from MP --> MBP (Maya Modelling) - need to be more mobile.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by fluidedge, Sep 21, 2009.

  1. fluidedge macrumors 65816

    fluidedge

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #1
    Hi

    I'm well out of the loop with mac laptops these days and wondered if anyone has done what i'm considering. I'm a 3D artist working primarily with Maya and modo but I use windows (my plugins are all for windows 64 bit and maya for mac is a train wreck of an app anyway ;) )

    So i'm using windows 80% of the time but i still need os x for shake and final cut.

    I have a mp at the moment but am finding myself tethered to the desk all the time and feel i need to be more mobile.

    Now the one problem is rendering power. I have moved into modelling more and away from simulation and rendering recently so I don't really need the raw power a MP gives me to crunch numbers; I'd only miss it when I need to actually render my work.

    I'm wondering if selling the MP is a mistake, but at the moment being young and free ( ;) ) I feel i need to be a bit more mobile. Has anyone made the same decision recently and regretted it or are happy with it?
     
  2. Full of Win macrumors 68030

    Full of Win

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Location:
    Ask Apple
    #2
    Do you think you will get what its worth? I'd bet you will miss it when you need it. When you do render, you will soon think to yourself - if all my cores were going on my MacPro, this would be done in 30 minutes, but now its going to take 3 hours. :mad:

    I tried to do this by going from an iMac to a MacBook, and did not like it.

    With all that said - what the hell do I know.
     
  3. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Location:
    Thule GL @ the TOW
    #3
    ...how much power do you have access to (what model MP)?

    That would give us a better idea if a current MBP would suit your needs...
     
  4. fluidedge thread starter macrumors 65816

    fluidedge

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #4
    sorry i should have been more clear!

    Mac Pro (Jan 2008)
    2.8GHz Single Quad Core chip
    2GB RAM
    ATI 2600
    Airport Card
    320GB Drive (and others but i have an external raid drive for those)

    (basically the base spec with an Airport card thrown in)
     
  5. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Location:
    Thule GL @ the TOW
    #5
    ...I wouldn't, you'll miss the power if you sell it... the current MBP's are too much of a step backwards from what you have until a major notebook architecture change comes about first...
     
  6. jdechko macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #6
    I'm assuming that you need the funds from the sale of the MP to buy the MBP?

    Otherwise, why not try to pick up a cheap UMBP off of craigslist or go with a refurbished model?
     
  7. fluidedge thread starter macrumors 65816

    fluidedge

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #7
    im looking to sell the MP to fund the MBP. I reckon i could swap my MP for a 15" 2.66GHz model.
     

Share This Page