Connect camera to mac? {without iphoto}

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Mobius 1, Jul 2, 2011.

  1. Mobius 1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #1
    How do you connect camera directly to finder without using iphoto?

    I hate iphoto


    i have the camera directly attached to the computer



    Camera model: EOS 1000D
     
  2. Knoodles macrumors 6502

    Knoodles

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Gone to the Beach
    #2
    Use Image Capture. It's in your apps folder. Set it to open when a camera is attached. Or you could use a card reader. The card will mount on the desktop. Open it, find your photos and drag them to a new folder on your desktop.
     
  3. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #3
    thank you :)

    now to disable iphoto opening automatically
     
  4. Knoodles macrumors 6502

    Knoodles

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Gone to the Beach
    #4
    Image Capture preferences "open image capture when a camera is connected. The next time you open iPhoto it will ask if you want it to open when a camera is connected hit No.
     
  5. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
  6. Knoodles macrumors 6502

    Knoodles

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Gone to the Beach
    #6
    Menu Bar>Image Capture>Preferences? Should be there. Open Image Capture without the camera connected.
     
  7. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
  8. Knoodles macrumors 6502

    Knoodles

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Gone to the Beach
    #8
    Sorry my bad. You are using Snow Leopard and I was giving you Leopard directions.
    Connect your camera. Open Image Capture. Select the camera from Devices. From the connecting this <device> pop up menu chose Image Capture. If you don't see this choose show device settings from the button in the lower left hand corner.

    This was found by using Image Capture Help Menu.
     
  9. monokakata, Jul 2, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2011

    monokakata macrumors 68000

    monokakata

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawai'i
    #9
    I have iPhoto auto-connect turned off.

    I just wait a few seconds for my D300 to show up in Finder, drill down into it, and copy/paste the images where I want them.

    Maybe your Canon doesn't have an "I'm a disk drive" mode, but if it does -- that's your easiest solution.
     
  10. John T macrumors 68020

    John T

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    UK.
  11. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #11
    thank u :D



    mine broke :(
     

Share This Page