Connect G5 HD as external HD to MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by veroaero, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. veroaero macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    Hello,

    My G5 crashed and all I have is the HD. I tried connecting it as an external HD with a 2.5" USB enclosure (VANTEC NexStar TX NST-210S2-BK) to my MacBook Pro but nothing happens. Does anyone know what I can do in order to get access to the G5 HD from my MacBook Pro?

    I'd be super happy for any help. It's for work.

    Thank you,
    Vero
     
  2. NZed macrumors 65816

    NZed

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Canada, Eh?
    #2
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    Have you taken a look inside Disk Utility and seen if the HDDs show up there?
    Or if System Profiler even registers the USB enclosure (Hardware > USB)?
    System Profiler and Disk Utility can be found in Applications / Utilities /.
     
  4. veroaero thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    It doesn't show up.
     
  5. veroaero thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    I only have the HD and not the tower. I figured I only needed a USB enclosure, but it seems like it's not doing anything. Should I try anohter Enclosure, or do I need more power for the USB to fire up the HD?
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    It doesn't show up in both applications?
    Do you hear the HDD spin up upon connecting it via USB and powering up via the external enclosure?
    And what exact enclosure do you use?


    To quote several posts, use the [​IMG] button (multi-quote).
     
  7. veroaero thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7
    It doesn't spin up. It's "dead".
    I tried this enclosure: VANTEC NexStar TX NST-210S2-BK Aluminum 2.5" USB 2.0 External Enclosure (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817392032)
    Should I get another one?

    Thank you for trying to help me.
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    I over-read the "2.5" enclosure" part in your OP.
    The HDD you have is most probably a 3.5" desktop HDD, therefore you need an enclosure for 3.5" HDDs, as they require more power than a 2.5" HDD, that is why it won't spin up.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. veroaero thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    Ok, stupid me. I'll get one asap and try it out. Thank you very much.
     

Share This Page