Connect hi-fi speakers to Macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by jonakin, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. jonakin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #1
    Hi how can i connect hi-fi speakers to my macbook? Do i need a cable and do i plug it into the headphone socket or what?
    Thanks!
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    The cable depends on what input those speakers, or the amplifier has.

    Normally it's a red and white/black RCA input.

    Then you need a 3.5mm to RCA cable like this:

    [​IMG]
     
  3. jonakin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #3
    Thanks!
    but i forgot to mention that there is also a subwoofer with a plug which the speakers need to be connected to power speakers.
    Do i need another cable to connect the subwoofer to the laptop or can i just leave the subwoofer out?
    Sorry if its hard to understand im a bit confused here.
    edit: or actually can the laptop power the speakers??

    It's this hifi
    http://www.amazon.com/Sony-PMC-MD55-Executive-Microsystem/dp/B00004WFX5
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    According to page 66 of the British manual, the system you have has a 3.5mm line-in on the front, which you can use to connect external audio devices to it.

    You need a 3.5mm male to 3.55mm male cable to connect your Mac to that Sony.

    The front panel line-in:
    [​IMG]

    The cable you need:
    [​IMG]

    Both ends have to look like this:
    [​IMG]

    Any good electronics store with an audio department should have those.


    You need to use the Sony system, as the 3.5mm plug and cable does not transmit enough power to power external speakers of that magnitude, that's why you simply use the Sony system. Connect everything to the Sony system as the manual lays out (speakers and subwoofer) and then plug in the 3.5mm cable into the line-in and you may have to select the input via the remote or any of the front panel buttons.

    The manual will explain further.
     
  5. jonakin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
  6. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #6
    It looks like on page 59 of the manual it talks about hooking up a component like a TV, VCR, etc. (the etc. would be your MacBook) with a cable that's not supplied called a RK-G136 made by Sony. It looks like a generic cable with a mini jack on each end. If you don't have the manual, it can be found on the link that you provided. -GDF
     
  7. mrboult macrumors 6502

    mrboult

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    London, England
    #7
    Bloody hell spinnerlys . . . .

    You must be one of the kindest forum members I've come across. That was a very detailed reply to the OPs question.
     
  8. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #8
    Thanks, but I can also be bloody rude sometimes via some kind of sarcasm, but that only happens in the XYZth thread about upcoming MBPs or how the iPad is a failure and such threads.

    As English is not my native tongue, pictures are sometimes better for me to convey or underline what I want to say.
     

Share This Page