Connect iPad 4 to a 30" Apple Cinema Display

Discussion in 'iPad' started by cojo, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. cojo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    #1
    I know...old equipment, but I'm hoping someone can help. I have a 30" Apple Cinema Display collecting dust in my basement. I'd like to connect it up to my (aging) 4th generation iPad. Anyone know if/how I can do this?

    Thanks!!
     
  2. Acorn macrumors 68020

    Acorn

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    macrumors
    #2
    look up airserver and see if thats what you need.
     
  3. Brookzy macrumors 68040

    Brookzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    How about Lightning to HDMI using Apple's cable, and then HDMI to DVI?

    I know the 30" Cinema Display uses dual-link DVI so that could be an issue - I'm guessing it won't accept a single-link signal and stretch it. HDMI to dual-link DVI does exist but the units are quite expensive.
     
  4. cojo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    #4
    Thanks! It's worth a try.
     
  5. Brookzy macrumors 68040

    Brookzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    I'm curious - keep us updated with how it goes. I think it is worth trying a dumb single link adapter (available on Amazon for peanuts) and seeing if the concept will work, because the Lightning-to-HDMI adapter might not work well with a secondary video conversion since the adapter already performs some trickery:

    "...the iDevice is actually sending an H.264-encoded image through the Lightning interface to the adapter, where a small ARM chip decodes that information and outputs it over HDMI."
     
  6. cojo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    #6
    Happy to keep you posted. I've already ordered from Amazon and will know by the end of the week!
     
  7. cojo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    #7
    For less than $4, I also thought I'd take a chance and order this one that says it's a 'DVI-D Dual Link'.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. cojo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    #8
    It worked with a single link adapter!!! Thank you so much for the suggestion!
     

Share This Page