Connect MacBook Air to HDTV

mgpg89

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 31, 2008
Belgium
I have a 3-month-old MBA that I'd like to connect to my HDTV ... Which cable do I need?

Thunderbolt to HDMI? Is that an option? And if so, which manufacturer/model is reliable?

Thanks in advance.

Rorlow

macrumors member
Jan 12, 2011
Detroit, MI
Same MBA here, its about 6 weeks old, I got the Moshi mini display to HDMI convertor sold online in the apple store, was about $30 and picked up the HDMI cable in the apple store for about $20. Mini display/Thunderbolt connector listed as same config on this year MBA.

KylePowers

macrumors 68000
Mar 5, 2011
Same MBA here, its about 6 weeks old, I got the Moshi mini display to HDMI convertor sold online in the apple store, was about $30 and picked up the HDMI cable in the apple store for about $20. Mini display/Thunderbolt connector listed as same config on this year MBA.
Wow, they must have seen you coming from a mile away lol

OP, check out Monoprice.com:

Thunderbolt (MDP) to HDMI adapter for $6.65: http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...=10428&cs_id=1042802&p_id=5311&seq=1&format=2

Or, check out Amazon.com:

The same adapter above, but not branded, for $4.00:
http://www.amazon.com/DisplayPort-F...1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1338503805&sr=1-1

Thunderbolt (MDP) to HDMI 6ft wire for $6.45:
http://www.amazon.com/Mini-DisplayP...2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1338503805&sr=1-2

I have the Monoprice adapter and the 6ft wire from Amazon, both work flawlessly and are obviously very cheap.

EDIT - If you don't go with the wire listed above and only go for the adapter, and don't have an HDMI cable, also check out Monoprice (6ft - $3.50: http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102…) or Amazon (6ft - $1.60: http://www.amazon.com/DVI-Gear-HDMI...1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1338503974&sr=1-1)

btdpi007

macrumors member
Jun 9, 2009
North Carolina