Connect MBP to High-definition TV?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by thurston, May 17, 2008.

  1. thurston macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #1
    Hi

    I would like to know if it is possible to connect my Macbook Pro 15" to my 42" Flatscreen LCD tv with High-definition..? Do i need a HDMI cable or which cable is it i need?
    I want to try and see what it looks and feels like to play company of heroes on 42"s of flat screen + surround sound! i think it would feel great.

    PS this is the tv if it helps: Link

    Greetings from Denmark
     
  2. Aperture macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #2
  3. thurston thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    hi aperture,
    The dvi cable just doesnt look like it fits into the MBP on the right side.. looks like another kind of socket but i could be wrong
     
  4. Aperture macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #4
    It'll work. The MBP supports DVI "Dual Link" which is capable of producing a resolution of 2048 x 1536. "Single link" supports 1920 x 1200 at it's highest. It won't really make a difference because not all devices support dual link. Anyway, the port on your MBP is dual link while that cable is single link. The MBP is capable of using both, though. Again, it'll work fine. :)
     
  5. thurston thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    Thanks alot for your help!
    Question now is, if the quality is good when transferred to the Tv

    Regards,
    thurston
     
  6. Aperture macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #6
    The quality should be excellent, I see no reason otherwise. If your TV has a DVI port, you can just eliminate the HDMI from the mess and just get a DVI cable for going straight from your MBP to your TV.
     
  7. bugout macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    is everything!
    #7
    Dual-link DVI can display up to 2560*1600
     
  8. matttrick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
  9. Aperture macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #9
    Noted, thanks. :)
     
  10. thurston thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
  11. DeuceDeuce macrumors 6502a

    DeuceDeuce

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    San Dimas, CA
    #11
  12. thurston thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    Thanks for replies..

    I checked another thread concerning this matter, but it seems like people who have tried it wont get the full resolution on the TV screen; 'it doesnt fill the whole screen.'

    Can anyone confirm this?
     
  13. Aperture macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #13
    Regarding the cables, I'd strongly suggest MonoPrice.com. If you really want to get them from Apple, though, you'll need this adapter plus a basic HDMI cable. Alternatively, you could just simplify it and get just this cable.

    Edit: I just read some of the reviews on that cable and I see the issue you referred to. Does your TV have a VGA or DVI input?
     
  14. donmei macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    #14
    +1 on monoprice.
    great prices
    great stuff
    great service.

    hdmi is a terrible, flakey standard. every hdmi is a crapshoot. Monoprice will return or exchange items with no questions asked.

    Don
     
  15. thurston thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #15
    problem is, monoprice.com does not ship to Europe (Denmark) :(

    as far as i know, it has 1 VGA input.
     
  16. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #16
    just to point out, you're going to need an additional cable for outputting sound from your macbook pro. a dvi-->hdmi cable will only output video.
     
  17. digitalnicotine macrumors 65816

    digitalnicotine

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #17
    You can also check Amazon, if you get that where you live. I got my DVI to HDMI cable there for $15 shipped, and it works great.

    As far as resolution, the problem lies in the fact that (1080P) HDTV's display at 1920x1080 and your MBP will display 1920x1200, so on the HDTV screen there will be top and bottom black bars, to account for the difference (letterboxing). It's not a big deal.

    You didn't mention the resolution of your HDTV? Is it 1080P or 720?
     
  18. thurston thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #18
    Hi, thansk for your replies.
    Its 1080p btw. Should the resolution be crystal clear despite the letterboxing?
     
  19. digitalnicotine macrumors 65816

    digitalnicotine

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #19
    Yes, the image should be clear. The only thing that may be a bit off from a monitor is the text. Sometimes text can be a bit fuzzy or harder to read on the large screen HDTV's, but your mileage may vary.
     

Share This Page